pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: squidguard does not work after reboot  (Read 3836 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline javerleo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Javier H. Eraso
    • View Profile
squidguard does not work after reboot
« on: September 24, 2009, 11:16:24 pm »
I found people with the same problem, but no solution so far.
Squidguard ACL filters seem not to be working after restart. I have to manually apply/save on general tab to make it work again.

Some clues?
-------------
God is my best friend

Online dvserg

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4785
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2009, 03:45:35 am »
Logs/Messages exists ?

Offline NateDavis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2009, 09:32:42 pm »
I have the same problem. I think it is stemming from a boot order problem. When I watched the boot order, I saw SquidGuard, and then Squid Loading. Maybe if I knew how to flow those, it would work right. Not exactly sure if that is the real issue, but would love to swap the boot order and try it... Anyone have ideas on how to do that?

Thanks!
Nate

Offline Roodawakening

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2009, 07:36:59 am »
I'm seeing the same issue with Squid and HAVP. Upon reboot, the dashboard shows Squid, Squidguard, and HAVP "running" but whatismyip.com doesn't detect a proxy server until I click save on the General tabs for both the Squid and HAVP packages. I really don't understand why that's the case.
"The descent to hell is easy. The gates stand open day and night. But to reclimb the slope and escape to the upper air: This is labor."
--Virgil, Aeneid, Book 6

Rob

Offline rudraansh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 52
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2009, 08:16:15 am »
You can find some tutorials which describes the step by step procedure to configure squid guard correctly.
Secondly if you are using two WAN connections you will not be able to use squid.

As the support for Squid doesnt support MultiWAN.


Offline saschas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2010, 05:10:25 am »
I have the same problem here with 1 WAN, 1 LAN and a fresh installed pfsense 1.2.3

has someone found a solution??

all services are marked running + I did the squid tuning like declclared in teh docs and have set kern.ipc.nmbclusters="32768"

in the systemlogs after a reboot I get message:
Code: [Select]
php: : SQUID is installed but not started. Not installing redirect rules.twice, then suddenly a
Code: [Select]
php: : Resyncing configuration for all packages.
php: : Reloading Squid for configuration sync
php: : Starting Squid
squid[991]: Squid Parent: child process 993 started

After restarting squid in "status=>services" filtering works.

greetings from belgium, sascha
« Last Edit: April 03, 2010, 05:24:53 am by saschas »

Offline morris979

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2010, 07:53:42 am »
Hi, I have the same problem also without Squidguard. After reboot of pfSense, "transparent proxy" of Squid doesn't work until I press "save" in the menu of "Proxy server".

Is it possibile only few people have this problem?!  :'(

I reinstall many time pfSense, and I've always the same problem.

Bye.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2010, 08:38:40 am by morris979 »
...odiare i mascalzoni e cosa nobile...

Offline NeophyteHeaven

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Unseen Eyes
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2010, 09:16:08 am »
im not sure what the cause of this, but i have the same problem also before with squid.. but what i just do is fresh install and install lusca_cache + squidquard and it works perfectly well.
running pfsense 1.2.3-RELEASE on Dell R300 (raid1), Lusca/LUSCA_HEAD r14560 patched by chudy r11

Offline morris979

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2010, 07:08:47 pm »
I solved this issue installing pfSense 1.2.2 instead 1.2.3....  :-\
...odiare i mascalzoni e cosa nobile...

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2010, 08:16:56 am »
For whatever reason, this only seems to his certain people. I haven't looked into it in a while, but the last time I checked I had some difficulty reproducing it reliably enough to attempt a fix.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2010, 11:06:27 am »
I also have the same issue with 1.2.3... Once i know the box is rebooted.. I going the proxy config page and hit save.. Then everything kicks in.

Offline lsoltero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2010, 04:08:46 am »
I have a detailed posting on this issue which resolves the problem here
http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=20690.0

--luis

« Last Edit: June 24, 2010, 12:25:52 pm by lsoltero »

Offline okwuyz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: squidguard does not work after reboot
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2010, 05:16:27 pm »
Hi all,

I've been experiencing this same problem which made me do a lot of re-installations and testing the packages one after the other. During these times, I noticed that Sqiud + Squidguard + Havp always cause this problem. So I installed Squid + Squidguard alone and the problem stopped. So the problem seems to be with HAVP if installed together with Squidguard. If i reboot many times,the Squid and Squidguard always start.
I'm running v.123 on Gigabyte board + Dual Core + 4Gb memory.

One can give it a try.

Okwuy.