Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Updating version via console/shell?  (Read 9621 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Updating version via console/shell?
« on: November 27, 2005, 07:06:26 pm »
Well, I'm currently locked out of my webGUI once I upgraded to 0.94.14, and I wanted to try 0.94.16 without having to install from LiveCD.

Is this possible?
Nelson Papel

Offline hoba

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • Karma: +8/-0
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2005, 07:31:43 pm »
Mental note, search wiki first before posting....thanks :)
Nelson Papel

Offline hoba

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • Karma: +8/-0
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2005, 07:33:17 pm »
np  ;D

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2005, 08:52:28 pm »
Damn, still no webGUI for me.....(updated to version 0.94.18)

So I can use the 'fetch -o' command to copy a backup config to the pfSense in the same way I guess....cool.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2005, 11:02:15 pm by thinair »
Nelson Papel

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2005, 11:49:42 pm »
Damn, still no webGUI for me.....(updated to version 0.94.18)

So I can use the 'fetch -o' command to copy a backup config to the pfSense in the same way I guess....cool.

Try resetting the lan ip to switch the web server back to HTTP if its in HTTPS.

We switched to LightyHTTPD.   There is a reason I haven't released these new versions...

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2005, 05:08:21 am »
that did it, thank you.
Nelson Papel

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2005, 11:39:31 am »
that did it, thank you.

So does HTTPS not work?

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2005, 04:36:08 pm »
I just tried re-enabling it and I'm locked out again.  I'm going to try 0.94.20 that was just posted in the /~sullrich directory.
Nelson Papel

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2005, 04:38:34 pm »
I just tried re-enabling it and I'm locked out again.  I'm going to try 0.94.20 that was just posted in the /~sullrich directory.

It's not done uploading!

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2005, 04:43:52 pm »
hmmm, I wonder what I just downloaded then.....
Nelson Papel

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2005, 04:47:49 pm »
hmmm, I wonder what I just downloaded then.....

An incomplete version.   It's now uploaded.

I really should know, its my home directory.

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #12 on: November 28, 2005, 05:13:59 pm »
I wasn't trying to be sarcastic, I sincerly wondered what I had downloaded.  I didn't know the link for a file showed up in the directory as soon as you start uploading.  I'm a windows guy who is used to windows caching everything...anyway.

Ok, 0.94.20 updated, http works, https doesn't.
Nelson Papel

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #13 on: November 28, 2005, 07:38:29 pm »
I wasn't trying to be sarcastic, I sincerly wondered what I had downloaded.  I didn't know the link for a file showed up in the directory as soon as you start uploading.  I'm a windows guy who is used to windows caching everything...anyway.

Ok, 0.94.20 updated, http works, https doesn't.

Ok, thanks.  Will look into the https issues.

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2005, 12:50:42 am »
HTTPS is fixed as of 0.95