Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Updating version via console/shell?  (Read 9635 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #15 on: November 29, 2005, 08:46:21 am »
Thank you, it works.

As a side note, as of 0.94.18, the 'Configuring OPT interfaces' no longer takes 3-5 minutes, it's just a few seconds and continues to load.  Thanks for that too.
Nelson Papel

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #16 on: November 29, 2005, 09:14:25 am »
Thank you, it works.

As a side note, as of 0.94.18, the 'Configuring OPT interfaces' no longer takes 3-5 minutes, it's just a few seconds and continues to load.  Thanks for that too.

Good deal.  Please excercise the GUI as much as possible.   Try to "crash" it.

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #17 on: November 29, 2005, 11:45:51 am »
Well, here is my list i guess

- On the 'Diagnostics: Show States' page, i have to scroll all the way to the bottom of the page to see the states table.
- unchecking the 'Disable NAT Reflection' box still messes up all http traffic going out.
- the ntop service turns itself off for some reason

I suppose only the first is the a webGUI issue, and cosmetic at that.

And a question, you decide if it's webGUI related.  On the logs settings page, when I click 'Disable writing log files to the local disk', it doesn't hold the entries in RAM at all?  It basically disables logging unless you have a syslog server setup?
Nelson Papel

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #18 on: November 29, 2005, 11:49:47 am »
Well, here is my list i guess

- On the 'Diagnostics: Show States' page, i have to scroll all the way to the bottom of the page to see the states table.
- unchecking the 'Disable NAT Reflection' box still messes up all http traffic going out.
- the ntop service turns itself off for some reason

I suppose only the first is the a webGUI issue, and cosmetic at that.

And a question, you decide if it's webGUI related.  On the logs settings page, when I click 'Disable writing log files to the local disk', it doesn't hold the entries in RAM at all?  It basically disables logging unless you have a syslog server setup?


1. please take a screen shot
2. you have some nat rule stepping on reflection, need to identify it, i cannot reporduce this
3. look in system logs for ntop entries
4. yes, it will not write entries at all

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Nelson Papel

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #20 on: November 29, 2005, 01:27:46 pm »

Offline thinair

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
    • nelsonpapel.com
Re: Updating version via console/shell?
« Reply #21 on: November 29, 2005, 05:59:23 pm »
3. look in system logs for ntop entries

Looks like it gets killed due to lack of RAM (128MB), I didn't create a swap partition due to the CF card.  I didn't think ntop was such a memory hog, I usually have under 40% memory usage with it off.

I gotta stop asking questions I can find answers to....
Sorry, but thanks.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2005, 06:02:31 pm by thinair »
Nelson Papel