The pfSense Store

Author Topic: How to Show DHCP Pool Utilization?  (Read 2756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wifiguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
How to Show DHCP Pool Utilization?
« on: June 30, 2010, 12:06:06 pm »
Hello all,

We have several VLAN's on our server and I was wondering if there was a way to show at what % any given pool is being utilized at?  Is there a command for this or a way to show this via the GUI?

Thanks in advance,

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Show DHCP Pool Utilization?
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 03:03:46 pm »
Status > DHCP Leases will show the active leases, but it doesn't show pool utilization numbers or percentages. It might be feasible to add in 2.0, though.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline wifiguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Show DHCP Pool Utilization?
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2010, 06:07:17 pm »
Is there a way to get something like this on the wish list?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Show DHCP Pool Utilization?
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2010, 06:59:47 pm »
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline wifiguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Show DHCP Pool Utilization?
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2010, 12:11:57 am »
how often do these requests get answered?  I notice it's #709.  Just wondering the probability of this getting implemented?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Show DHCP Pool Utilization?
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2010, 06:24:50 am »
It's hard to say. It depends on when someone has time to do it, and how much work is involved. Since it is a feature, and 2.0 is fairly feature-frozen, it may not make 2.0, but if it turns out to be fairly simple, who knows.

It won't show up in 1.2.x since there will not be any more updates to that branch.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline WGamradt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How to Show DHCP Pool Utilization?
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2010, 09:11:53 pm »
I know this is an old thread but here is a rudimentary way to see the number of active leases.

grep -c "binding state active" /var/dhcpd/var/db/dhcpd.leases

That should output the number of leases at active status.