pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: pfSense and Latency  (Read 4682 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline warlord1312

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
pfSense and Latency
« on: January 17, 2010, 12:22:51 am »
Hi,

This is my first post here because I could not find the answer by reading.

Now the question I have is what latency are you guys having using pfSense when compared to a regular SOHO router. I have used pfSense in VirtualBox and really like it and would like to build a small box just for it but just a little concerned about this.

If it helps I have Comcast and in my opinion a crappy SMC 8014 which I would like to replace with a Motorola cable modem, a pfSense box, and if necessary maybe a Gigabit HP Procurve Switch such as the HP 1810G.

Thanks

Offline XIII

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 582
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense and Latency
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2010, 02:01:17 am »
it depends on yout Internet connection. have your isp test the latency between your modem and them and ask what the average in your neighnorhood is, specifically those on the same node as you.  
for my cable connection google is 50-85ms and for my dsl its 60-110ms, same as with the  netgear router i had before, sometimes faster.

dont see how a gigabit switch will help your latency with a wan (with docsis 2.0 tech).
-Chris Stutzman
Sys0:2.0.1: AMD Sempron 140 @2.7 1024M RAM 100GHD
Sys1:2.0.1: Intel P4 @2.66 1024M RAM 40GHD
freedns.afraid.org - Free DNS dynamic DNS subdomain and domain hosting.
Check out the pfSense Wiki

Offline warlord1312

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense and Latency
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2010, 02:29:39 am »
I am asking in particular if pfSense improved your latency or not, looking for some before and after numbers I guess. And my connection from Comcast is 16/2. If I do a Speedtest test I usually get 5 ms latency and around 20/5 in bandwidth.

Oh and sorry if you misunderstood but the switch was going to get added because of the number of devices on the network and in my opinion would probably deal with the LAN part of the network better than pfSense and I would not wanna add more than 3 NICs into the pfSense box.

Offline XIII

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 582
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense and Latency
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2010, 03:28:51 pm »
didnt notice much of a difference, maybe faster as the processing/memory power is more that what the router was....


as for the switch, i always have 1 lan inf connected to a switch.
-Chris Stutzman
Sys0:2.0.1: AMD Sempron 140 @2.7 1024M RAM 100GHD
Sys1:2.0.1: Intel P4 @2.66 1024M RAM 40GHD
freedns.afraid.org - Free DNS dynamic DNS subdomain and domain hosting.
Check out the pfSense Wiki

Offline YeOldeStonecat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: pfSense and Latency
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2010, 06:56:13 pm »
For just a single player with online gaming, and not much other traffic from your LAN at the same time, the SMC gateway that Comcast ships with their biz installs is actually quite a powerful little gateway.  The advantages of PFSense with its QoS will not come into play.  There are certain setups to setup your own router from behind the SMC so your own router gets the next static IP in your block, effectively bypassing the router/NAT features of the SMC, and if you use PFSense and you have quite a bit of other LAN traffic, the QoS/traffic shaping abilities that PFSense has will help out your online gaming quite a bit.