pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: DNS Transfer to Windows 2000 DNS as slave  (Read 7239 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jetberrocal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
DNS Transfer to Windows 2000 DNS as slave
« on: February 18, 2010, 08:58:30 am »
I am configuring for the first time the pfSense system, and do not have
any expertise in BSD.
 
First I want to describe my network and later will describe the problem.

The pfSense box is used for a sub network inside my Business Domain.
 
My Domain has two DNS Server (DNS1, DNS2) and two DHCP that handle the
192.168.0.0/24 network and resolve Internet addresses(www.google.com). 
The DNS are 192.168.0.80, 192.168.0.20.  Gateway is 192.168.0.90.
 
The pfSense Box has the WAN nic with a fix IP (192.168.0.75) from the
Domain network and the LAN nic with a fix IP (192.168.1.75) for the sub
network.  The LAN nic has enabled DHCP to handle the sub network
192.168.1.0/24.  I have installed the TinyDNS package.  DNS configured
for DHCP clients is 192.168.1.75 and Gateway is 192.168.1.75.
 
For testing purposes I have configure the pfSense Firewall to Allow ALL
and the NAT is on default for automatic handling.
 
The problem is to resolve from the pfSense internal subnetwork the
external Domain and Internet (www.yahoo.com), while the external Domain
can also resolve the subnetwork.  Also I need the DHCP to register the
host names on the DNS as the IP are assigned.
 
I think what I need is a way to configure the Domain DNS1 and DNS2 as
slave to the pfSense DNS for resolving the internal subnetwork and also
as Forwarders to resolve the external and Internet (www.pfsense.com)
addresses.  And configure the DHCP to register the host names.
 
The Web Configurator does not provide to do such a thing except the DHCP
auto registration.
 
Need specific instructions to make it work, as I said before I have no
expertise on BSD.

Offline jetberrocal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DNS Transfer to Windows 2000 DNS as slave
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2010, 09:01:04 am »
For some reason the TinyDNS package did not installed successfully the
first time, since I went to the Installed Packages and it was not found.

I tried a second time and it installed successfully this time.

Now the Web Configurator shows the DNS Server configuration options
provided by pfSense.
 
With it I managed to configure the system so now I can ping from the
internal subnetwork (192.168.1.0/24) to the Internet and to the external
subnetwork (192.168.0.0/24) and ping to themselves by name.
 
Now I am trying to make my Domain DNS1 and DNS2 as slaves so I can ping
to the internal subnetwork from the external subnetwork of the pfSense
DNS by name, but they failed.
 
I added their IP address to the Hosts allowed to perform DNS Zone
Transfers Setting (DNS Zone = *) and in Windows I tried with both
pfSense WAN and LAN IP address (192.168.0.75, 192.168.1.75) to create a
Secondary DNS Zone. (Recall that I have configure the Firewall to Allow
All)
 
The TinyDNS is bind to 127.0.0.1


I am configuring for the first time the pfSense system, and do not have
any expertise in BSD.
 
First I want to describe my network and later will describe the problem.

The pfSense box is used for a sub network inside my Business Domain.
 
My Domain has two DNS Server (DNS1, DNS2) and two DHCP that handle the
192.168.0.0/24 network and resolve Internet addresses(www.google.com). 
The DNS are 192.168.0.80, 192.168.0.20.  Gateway is 192.168.0.90.
 
The pfSense Box has the WAN nic with a fix IP (192.168.0.75) from the
Domain network and the LAN nic with a fix IP (192.168.1.75) for the sub
network.  The LAN nic has enabled DHCP to handle the sub network
192.168.1.0/24.  I have installed the TinyDNS package.  DNS configured
for DHCP clients is 192.168.1.75 and Gateway is 192.168.1.75.
 
For testing purposes I have configure the pfSense Firewall to Allow ALL
and the NAT is on default for automatic handling.
 
The problem is to resolve from the pfSense internal subnetwork the
external Domain and Internet (www.yahoo.com), while the external Domain
can also resolve the subnetwork.  Also I need the DHCP to register the
host names on the DNS as the IP are assigned.
 
I think what I need is a way to configure the Domain DNS1 and DNS2 as
slave to the pfSense DNS for resolving the internal subnetwork and also
as Forwarders to resolve the external and Internet (www.pfsense.com)
addresses.  And configure the DHCP to register the host names.
 
The Web Configurator does not provide to do such a thing except the DHCP
auto registration.
 
Need specific instructions to make it work, as I said before I have no
expertise on BSD.

Offline jetberrocal

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 258
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: DNS Transfer to Windows 2000 DNS as slave
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2010, 09:05:03 am »
While searching the web I found two threads.

One thread was in a pfSense bug tracker system
http://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/show/119

And the other was on the pfSense Forum
http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,6957.0.html


The Bug tracker did not said to which version of pfSense or TinyDNS
package version this bug applied.  It includes an attachment, which is
not clear if it is a patch for the bug and if it is a patch how to
implement it.

The forum thread just say to execute the afxrdns-conf but does not
explain how to do it in pfSense.  This program has some parameters that
are specific for the system being run.  And what else has to be done
after executing this program, in specific detail for the pfSense system.
It says to add it to the svscan, but how?

By the way my pfSense version is 1.2.3-RELEASE and dns-server version
1.0.6.4


For some reason the TinyDNS package did not installed successfully the
first time, since I went to the Installed Packages and it was not found.

I tried a second time and it installed successfully this time.

Now the Web Configurator shows the DNS Server configuration options
provided by pfSense.
 
With it I managed to configure the system so now I can ping from the
internal subnetwork (192.168.1.0/24) to the Internet and to the external
subnetwork (192.168.0.0/24) and ping to themselves by name.
 
Now I am trying to make my Domain DNS1 and DNS2 as slaves so I can ping
to the internal subnetwork from the external subnetwork of the pfSense
DNS by name, but they failed.
 
I added their IP address to the Hosts allowed to perform DNS Zone
Transfers Setting (DNS Zone = *) and in Windows I tried with both
pfSense WAN and LAN IP address (192.168.0.75, 192.168.1.75) to create a
Secondary DNS Zone. (Recall that I have configure the Firewall to Allow
All)
 
The TinyDNS is bind to 127.0.0.1


I am configuring for the first time the pfSense system, and do not have
any expertise in BSD.
 
First I want to describe my network and later will describe the problem.

The pfSense box is used for a sub network inside my Business Domain.
 
My Domain has two DNS Server (DNS1, DNS2) and two DHCP that handle the
192.168.0.0/24 network and resolve Internet addresses(www.google.com). 
The DNS are 192.168.0.80, 192.168.0.20.  Gateway is 192.168.0.90.
 
The pfSense Box has the WAN nic with a fix IP (192.168.0.75) from the
Domain network and the LAN nic with a fix IP (192.168.1.75) for the sub
network.  The LAN nic has enabled DHCP to handle the sub network
192.168.1.0/24.  I have installed the TinyDNS package.  DNS configured
for DHCP clients is 192.168.1.75 and Gateway is 192.168.1.75.
 
For testing purposes I have configure the pfSense Firewall to Allow ALL
and the NAT is on default for automatic handling.
 
The problem is to resolve from the pfSense internal subnetwork the
external Domain and Internet (www.yahoo.com), while the external Domain
can also resolve the subnetwork.  Also I need the DHCP to register the
host names on the DNS as the IP are assigned.
 
I think what I need is a way to configure the Domain DNS1 and DNS2 as
slave to the pfSense DNS for resolving the internal subnetwork and also
as Forwarders to resolve the external and Internet (www.pfsense.com)
addresses.  And configure the DHCP to register the host names.
 
The Web Configurator does not provide to do such a thing except the DHCP
auto registration.
 
Need specific instructions to make it work, as I said before I have no
expertise on BSD.