The pfSense Store

Author Topic: IP-Blocklist  (Read 116535 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pistolero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #120 on: August 22, 2010, 01:12:07 am »
I tried IP Blocklist without logging enabled and it still broke HAVP. I was sad to have to uninstall IP Block... :-(

In other news, however, looks like your Country Block is working fine without interfering with other packages. Only small issue I have seen with it is that it does not start upon boot...

Thanks for your software!

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #121 on: August 22, 2010, 01:20:07 am »
What version of pfsense are you running? Embedded?

Countryblock will start on startup as will IP-Blocklist. Make sure /usr/local/etc/rc.d/countryblock.sh or ipblocklist.sh is there. Check the permissions of the file. I am still testing HAVP compatibility. .
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #122 on: August 22, 2010, 04:42:50 am »
atma.es and iblocklist.com now host a list that blocks attackers who try to spy or remotely control others' computers by means such Microsoft remote terminal, SSH, Telnet or shared desktops.
Sites spreading virus, trojans, spyware, exploits, fake identities/agents, DDoS attackers and Port scans are also in the list.

atma url: http://www.atma.es/atma.p2p
iblocklist url: http://list.iblocklist.com/files/tzmtqbbsgbtfxainogvm.gz

The list is updated daily. I recommend that you include this list with your other lists.
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline Pistolero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #123 on: August 22, 2010, 11:24:57 am »
What version of pfsense are you running? Embedded?

Countryblock will start on startup as will IP-Blocklist. Make sure /usr/local/etc/rc.d/countryblock.sh or ipblocklist.sh is there. Check the permissions of the file. I am still testing HAVP compatibility. .

I am running 1.2.3 x86. Lemme check the scripts to see their attributes...

Thanks!

Offline dlawley

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #124 on: August 23, 2010, 09:55:20 am »
Currently its not possible, but I did request it or at least let them know reason for asking.   Another challenge to tackle at some point.


ok cool, blocking ips.  But would like to incorporate I-Blocklist subscription list.  Not sure what the proper format might be since a username and id are part of the url.

possible?
I'm not really sure. My best guess would be to remove all the links you have and just add the subscription list. See if you get the counter to go up. If so then it works, if not then we can try to think of something else. Let me know, I'm curious.

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #125 on: August 23, 2010, 10:20:59 am »
Currently its not possible, but I did request it or at least let them know reason for asking.   Another challenge to tackle at some point.


ok cool, blocking ips.  But would like to incorporate I-Blocklist subscription list.  Not sure what the proper format might be since a username and id are part of the url.

possible?
I'm not really sure. My best guess would be to remove all the links you have and just add the subscription list. See if you get the counter to go up. If so then it works, if not then we can try to think of something else. Let me know, I'm curious.

There is a trick I use that you may be able to use for a subscription list. Using Firefox, download the list like normal and save it somewhere temporary. Now in firefox, in the download manager, right click on the downloaded file and click copy download location or url. This is the true URL, try to paste that into the package and see if that works.
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline Xthink

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #126 on: August 23, 2010, 01:14:44 pm »
If I add several list, can I temporarily disable any of the list if I need to just like peerguardian? 

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #127 on: August 23, 2010, 07:21:43 pm »
If I add several list, can I temporarily disable any of the list if I need to just like peerguardian? 

It's all or none. You can uncheck the "Enable IP-Blocklist" check box and click save to disable.
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline plehmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #128 on: August 24, 2010, 06:07:47 am »
 ??? well I've just installed latest  build of 1.2.3  on a Gigabyte  ATOM 510 board ga-510U if I remember .. 2 gig of ram and an old maxstor 320 gig single partition Sata 150 harddrive. So far its been great but I'm also in the process of trimming down the  WHS and saw ip blocklist. right over with the intros..I've  just installed  via package manager etc  copied the link for peer 1 traffic  given on the  blocklist manager page and received after a few mins....

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 35 bytes) in /etc/inc/util.inc on line 380
 no idea as to what this is referring to ?

any help

regards
Piers

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #129 on: August 24, 2010, 06:24:49 am »
??? well I've just installed latest  build of 1.2.3  on a Gigabyte  ATOM 510 board ga-510U if I remember .. 2 gig of ram and an old maxstor 320 gig single partition Sata 150 harddrive. So far its been great but I'm also in the process of trimming down the  WHS and saw ip blocklist. right over with the intros..I've  just installed  via package manager etc  copied the link for peer 1 traffic  given on the  blocklist manager page and received after a few mins....

Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 134217728 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 35 bytes) in /etc/inc/util.inc on line 380
 no idea as to what this is referring to ?

any help

regards
Piers

That's been talked about several times on this topic. The webserver processes the ipblocklist script via php. It will run out of memory because of the way the webserver is configured. You can edit how much memory is dedicated for the webserver, however the script still runs without changing anything.
Just wait for the browser busy or loading animation (even during the out of mem error it's still running when the loading animation is present) to complete. Then reload the page (But do not 'resend')

-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline plehmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #130 on: August 24, 2010, 07:59:02 am »
tb  yes thanks for the quick reply, my bad i do normally check through these posts b4,  bloody typical that one of the first times I dont  there it is staring at me.. though reloading under ff  after waiting about 5 mins  still only seems to load a small proportion of the ips that are loaded under peerblock...I shall test some more...and I'll now go and beat myself with a neatly trimmed willow branch....*scuttles away* :-[

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #131 on: August 24, 2010, 08:45:06 am »
tb  yes thanks for the quick reply, my bad i do normally check through these posts b4,  bloody typical that one of the first times I dont  there it is staring at me.. though reloading under ff  after waiting about 5 mins  still only seems to load a small proportion of the ips that are loaded under peerblock...I shall test some more...and I'll now go and beat myself with a neatly trimmed willow branch....*scuttles away* :-[

What list are you using, the lvl1 list?
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline plehmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #132 on: August 26, 2010, 07:25:55 am »
yup lvl 1 tried all the other stuff for  mem increase with no success as well. as an aside ive just re-installed pf sense due to hdd completely dying on me. after installing iblocklist  and the lvl 1 it would seem that it is not loading all the ip ranges and I have almost half the number compared to peerblock thats running on windows.I've left the list continuing until the icon finished is animation in the tab then go back to the home page and back to iblocklist to check whats running etc.I dont have a clue as to whythere are less ip's , any thoughts.

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #133 on: August 26, 2010, 07:57:26 am »
yup lvl 1 tried all the other stuff for  mem increase with no success as well. as an aside ive just re-installed pf sense due to hdd completely dying on me. after installing iblocklist  and the lvl 1 it would seem that it is not loading all the ip ranges and I have almost half the number compared to peerblock thats running on windows.I've left the list continuing until the icon finished is animation in the tab then go back to the home page and back to iblocklist to check whats running etc.I dont have a clue as to whythere are less ip's , any thoughts.

Is the number of IPs, just for the lvl1 list, 223972 or 241992? I see what's happening here.
Your Lvl1 List is in fact working perfect and blocking all the IPs. The way the package gets that number is by counting how many lines are in the rule that is created which not only represents IPs but also Networks! I will update the package to reflect the correct verbiage.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 08:01:56 am by tommyboy180 »
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline plehmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #134 on: August 26, 2010, 08:24:57 pm »
unfortunately the following is happening on hte new  build of pfsense

Current List(s): loading
http://iblocklist.whitacrecomputers.com/files/bt_level3.gz

***ETC******

Warning! - Apply after firewall change or state reset. Use at your own risk.
****error message****

Current Status = NOT running
/tmp/rules.debug:55: syntax error
You are blocking 0 IPs

the lvl 1 list  never got me anywhere...let me know what other information you'd like and I'll post here...
Piers