Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: IP-Blocklist  (Read 117021 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline gsgleason

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #180 on: November 23, 2010, 10:03:02 am »
Thank you so much, TommyBoy!  I needed this to find what was being blocked and preventing me from playing modern warfare 2.  =)  

[EDIT]

Here is my whitelist to allow Ps3 online play.  These were blocked by bt_level1.gz.

store.playstation.com:199.108.4.76-199.108.4.76
ena.net.playstation.net:198.107.158.197-198.107.158.198
ena.net.playstation.net:198.107.158.166-198.107.158.166
xmb.dl.playstation.net:208.111.185.235-208.111.185.235
xmb.dl.playstation.net:208.111.185.249-208.111.185.249
« Last Edit: November 23, 2010, 11:11:29 am by gsgleason »

Offline woodmouze

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #181 on: November 27, 2010, 07:09:39 pm »
Can't uninstall ipblocklist...
I didn't find Countryblock right away, so installed ipblocklist instead...
After that, I found countryblock - and this was what I needed...

ipblocklist is uninstalled, but still accessible from within the gui... can I remove it somehow ?


forgot to mention : i'm running it on the 1.2.3 platform, on a dual xeon server.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2010, 07:24:15 pm by woodmouze »

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #182 on: November 27, 2010, 07:25:31 pm »
Can't uninstall ipblocklist...
I didn't find Countryblock right away, so installed ipblocklist instead...
After that, I found countryblock - and this was what I needed...

ipblocklist is uninstalled, but still accessible from within the gui... can I remove it somehow ?


I think I know the problem. It's due to me changing the naming convention for 1.2.3 so I could push a differnt IP-Blocklist for BETA2.0.
You can edit your config.xml file and edit our the IP-Blocklist portion. Try re-installing and uninstalling if you're uncomfortable with editing your config.
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline woodmouze

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #183 on: November 28, 2010, 10:22:29 am »
Don't mind fiddling within CONFIG.XML... I'll try this...
Uninstalling, re-installing and uninstalling didn't help yesterday... so i'll dig into the config.xml - thanks.

I'll have to look into CountryBlock too- but I'll post the why's and how's in the other thread later on ;)

thank you for your reply.

Offline greengolftee87

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #184 on: December 05, 2010, 03:14:34 pm »
Beginner problems here.

****
Usage
Add direct link to list and press (Example: Level1, Level2, Level3)
Compressed lists should have .gz extention and follows PeerBlock syntax

Warning! - Apply after firewall change or state reset. Use at your own risk.

Current Status = Running

You are blocking 0 Networks/IPs
****
Q: How do I know if the list got applied?
A: The package web interface will display the current status.
Links i've attempted to use
http://list11.iblocklist.com/files/bt_spyware.gz
http://iblocklist.whitacrecomputers.com/files/bt_level3.gz
and several other i've verified are in the correct format including small handmade lists hosted on the LAN

Running Pfsense 1.2.3
Other packages installed: Dashboard
built on Sun Dec 6 23:21:36 EST 2009
FreeBSD 7.2-RELEASE-p5 i386

Q: I have the "Enable" check box checked but I don't think its blocking any IPs
A: Any Errors will be at the bottom of the page when you press Save/Update
I get no error messages after Save/Update

Offline RonpfS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #185 on: December 05, 2010, 05:06:05 pm »
Same problem here on 1.2.3 Release
Doesn't block anything
Doesn't uninstall correctly, IP BlockList still available in menu

got this in the log: Dec 5 14:05:45    root: IP-Blocklist was found not running


Code: [Select]
Usage
Add direct link to list and press (Example: Level1, Level2, Level3)
Compressed lists should have .gz extention and follows PeerBlock syntax

Warning! - Apply after firewall change or state reset. Use at your own risk.

Current Status = NOT running
/tmp/rules.debug:87: cannot load "/usr/local/www/packages/ipblocklist/lists/ipfw.ipfw": No such file or directory
You are blocking 0 Networks/IPs

I uninstall, resintalled, uninstalled to no avail.

Offline greengolftee87

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #186 on: December 05, 2010, 07:18:43 pm »
Same problem here on 1.2.3 Release
Doesn't block anything
Doesn't uninstall correctly, IP BlockList still available in menu

got this in the log: Dec 5 14:05:45    root: IP-Blocklist was found not running


Code: [Select]
Usage
Add direct link to list and press (Example: Level1, Level2, Level3)
Compressed lists should have .gz extention and follows PeerBlock syntax

Warning! - Apply after firewall change or state reset. Use at your own risk.

Current Status = NOT running
/tmp/rules.debug:87: cannot load "/usr/local/www/packages/ipblocklist/lists/ipfw.ipfw": No such file or directory
You are blocking 0 Networks/IPs

I uninstall, resintalled, uninstalled to no avail.


Yeah I just checked mine too. Uninstall does nothing

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #187 on: December 05, 2010, 08:34:29 pm »
I will look into the uninstall problem tonight. As far as getting it running make sure your using direct links to lists. Try using one of the example lists.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2010, 09:23:50 pm by tommyboy180 »
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline greengolftee87

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #188 on: December 05, 2010, 10:16:47 pm »
I tried all three lists on the configuration page to no avail.

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #189 on: December 06, 2010, 11:33:25 am »
IP-Blocklist 3.0.1 released!

fixed uninstall problem.
updated perl to 5.12
updated netCIDR to 0.14

pfsense 1.2.3 has been tested.

pfsense 2.0BETA not tested.

Completely uninstall IP-Blocklist. If you still have a link for IP-Blocklist then run "rm -R /usr/local/www/packages/ipblocklist" and "rm /usr/local/etc/rc.d/IP-Blocklist.sh" before re-installing 3.0.1
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline greengolftee87

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #190 on: December 06, 2010, 12:28:30 pm »
You are all kinds of awesome. Started working right away.
Thanks

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #191 on: December 06, 2010, 02:21:05 pm »
You are all kinds of awesome. Started working right away.
Thanks

Glad to hear it!
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline RonpfS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #192 on: December 06, 2010, 09:07:33 pm »
So I rm the package rm -R /usr/local/www/packages/ipblocklist" and "rm /usr/local/etc/rc.d/IP-Blocklist.sh"
I reinstalled, doesn't block any .gz list

Removed, uninstallation went fine, the menu are not present in Firewall menu  :)

Install again, still You are blocking 0 Networks/IPs

I modified /etc/inc/config.inc from 128MB to 256M and /usr/local/lib/php.ini from 32M to 128M
no change (not sure if I have to reboot or not)

Uninstall is my next move

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #193 on: December 06, 2010, 09:27:22 pm »
So I rm the package rm -R /usr/local/www/packages/ipblocklist" and "rm /usr/local/etc/rc.d/IP-Blocklist.sh"
I reinstalled, doesn't block any .gz list

Removed, uninstallation went fine, the menu are not present in Firewall menu  :)

Install again, still You are blocking 0 Networks/IPs

I modified /etc/inc/config.inc from 128MB to 256M and /usr/local/lib/php.ini from 32M to 128M
no change (not sure if I have to reboot or not)

Uninstall is my next move


Uninstall the package from your package manager page and then re-install. That should do it. The rm -R command was only for those that still had a link after uninstalling and still had the package installed.
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Offline firestrife23

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IP-Blocklist
« Reply #194 on: December 15, 2010, 09:09:50 am »
It seem to working perfectly, without any issues. However, how do I know it's actively blocking in real time, is there's a way to monitor this similar to logfile? I enabled Logging, and I don't see it under Status > System Logs