pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: ntop using nearly 100% CPU  (Read 2645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline peterclo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ntop using nearly 100% CPU
« on: October 26, 2006, 05:04:35 am »
I have run into a problem several times after a few days of uptime, the CPU usage would show as 100%. Since I'm currently testing my pfsense box, I just reboot it and it works nicely again for a few days (between 2 and 5). I found out today how to check the processes CPU usage (top -s1) and I found out that ntop was using nearly 100% CPU.

 PID USERNAME  THR PRI NICE   SIZE    RES STATE    TIME   WCPU COMMAND
73148 root        1 139   20 61696K 55996K RUN    815:43 93.99% ntop
67758 root        1  -8    0 42868K 17128K piperd   0:04  0.05% php

Trying to stop the service doesn't work, the process keeps running. Restarting it doesn't correct the CPU usage either. I have to use a kill -9 to get rid of it.

Does anybody have the same problem? Is there a solution or do I have to uninstall ntop?

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: ntop using nearly 100% CPU
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2006, 09:51:24 am »
That happens with ntop from time to time.  The author claims FreeBSD threading is broken and does not want to fix.

Offline peterclo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ntop using nearly 100% CPU
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2006, 10:06:55 am »
Ha ha that's a good one :)

Ah well, I'll just run ntop when I need it and stop it afterwards.