The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Accessing pfsense box from Internet  (Read 1484 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sumant1974

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Accessing pfsense box from Internet
« on: August 13, 2010, 12:19:11 pm »
How to connect to pfsense box from Internet?

I have an pfsense box acting as my border firewall. I want to access it from my home running internet through ssh port. And also ping to the pfsense wan ip to monitor that it is on.

Please post if u can help me out.


sumant

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Accessing pfsense box from Internet
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2010, 03:25:34 pm »
Add firewall rules as desired on WAN.

Offline Rampage

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing pfsense box from Internet
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2010, 06:25:36 am »
for security reasons i suggest to use a vpn tunnel.

Offline XIII

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 582
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing pfsense box from Internet
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2010, 05:34:50 pm »
No matter the method, make sure you are using HTTPS to manage the FW, and not HTTP, if using a self signed cert, for better security, install the certificate on each computer that you will manage it from, that way you will get an alert only if the cert has changed
-Chris Stutzman
Sys0:2.0.1: AMD Sempron 140 @2.7 1024M RAM 100GHD
Sys1:2.0.1: Intel P4 @2.66 1024M RAM 40GHD
freedns.afraid.org - Free DNS dynamic DNS subdomain and domain hosting.
Check out the pfSense Wiki

Offline sumant1974

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing pfsense box from Internet
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2010, 11:50:09 am »
How to connect to pfsense box from Internet?

I have an pfsense box acting as my border firewall. I want to access it from my home running internet through ssh port. And also ping to the pfsense wan ip to monitor that it is on.

Please post if u can help me out.


sumant

Thanks all

I have got the way to do it

Sumant