pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010  (Read 2551 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Schnulch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« on: September 15, 2010, 02:32:52 pm »
Hi,

since the latest snapshots seem to have some "issues" when it comes to load balancing (outbound) still using version: 2.0-BETA4  (i386)
built on Wed Sep 8 23:15:42 EDT 2010

Accessing ftp sites does not work, no matter if tftp helper is on or off (worked this afternoon for approx 10 minutes, after activating the helper on LAN,
since then tried every combination possible of helper on and off on every interface (wan, opt1 - opt3  (wan) and lan))

Anyone experiencing the same? Or somebody able to guide me to a working ftp transfer?

Thanks in advance

Sincerely
Schnulch

Offline kpa

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 266
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2010, 05:25:03 pm »
Ftp broken for me as well, 2.0-BETA4  (i386) built on Wed Sep 15 09:00:44 EDT 2010 snapshot. Active mode ftp doesn't work at all. Passive mode hangs on data connection but I can make it work by using a command line ftp client if I interrupt the first dir listing that hangs with ctrl-c and by typing dir<enter> again.

Offline Schnulch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2010, 05:10:52 am »
Thanks for response and workaround, but since some other, not "that advanced users" are "beta-testers" for this setup too, i would like to have ftp (at least in passive mode) working with (at least) IE and Firefox.
I thought about updating to latest snapshot for testing, but since you confirmed, ftp not usable in actual build, i will not.

Thanks again

Sincerely
Schnulch

Offline VincentV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2010, 08:00:58 pm »
I am having FTP trouble as well.

I have a couple of FTP servers on OPT1 bridged to WAN, a setup that worked without problems with 1.2.3 in either passive or active mode,  now testing pfsense 2.0 (snapshot form 13th Sep 2010) and my FTP servers are only useable after I manually assign a passive port range in the server and allow the port range on the firewall.

TFTP helper enabled or disabled on the firewall interfaces didn't seem to make a difference.

Offline Schnulch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2010, 03:09:51 am »
Thanks for the input,

I get an Error 425 cannot open data connection when trying to access ftp sites with Firefox.

anybody else?

Thanks
Sincerely
Schnulch

Offline dragon2611

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2010, 04:01:47 pm »
I believe the 17th Sep snapshot also suffers from this problem, although it appears to be intermittent for me.

Offline ys76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2010, 08:56:40 am »
Are there any news regarding this issue?

The mentioned workaround is not suitable for most of my desktop users here...

(yes, I know, V2 is beta, but my boss asked me to install it...)


ys76

Offline ermal

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3363
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2010, 09:02:29 am »
Have you tried the latest snapshot.

Offline ys76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2010, 09:09:39 am »
Will try tonight, after everbody stopped working....

ys76

Offline mastermindpro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #9 on: October 18, 2010, 10:39:03 am »
Can people stop thinking the TFTP helper has ANYTHING to do with FTP?  ::)

FTP clients and servers behind pfSense is a crapshoot.  Most of the permutations simply don't work, even on the most recent snapshots.  It must not be an easy fix, as people have complained about FTP for months now.

Offline ermal

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3363
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #10 on: October 18, 2010, 11:45:10 am »
State the permutations that do not work, that IMO is hard work.

Offline mastermindpro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #11 on: October 18, 2010, 01:05:45 pm »
Surveying the multiple topics on this issue would be a start.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14990
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 8.sept.2010
« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2010, 07:41:12 am »
At the moment on recent snapshots I haven't had any problems with FTP. I did for a while but then at a certain point a couple weeks ago they cleared up and it has been fine.

So I wouldn't really call it a "crapshoot" on current snapshots without stating exactly what does not work. There may be threads out there that are from old snapshots so the data is stale. Someone needs to try/retest a bunch of different FTP scenarios and give some solid feedback from the current codebase.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline ys76

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ftp does not work in v2 beta4 -- Works on V2 beta4 build Mon Oct 18
« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2010, 11:57:45 pm »
Hello World!

Just upgraded my old V2-Version (September 18th) to the current one (nanobsd 2G, build Mon Oct 18 18:29:59 EDT 2010) and passive FTP (outbound) works again.

Setup:


         ----------------
        (     Internet      )
         ----------------
          |                 |
          |                 |
       pppoe           pppoe/static
          |                 |
  ------------          |
 | DSL-Router |        |
  ------------          |
           |                |
           |                |
          ---------------
         |    pfSense      |
          ---------------
                    |
                    |
          ---------------
         (Internal Network)
          ----------------