Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: DynDNS.com Update  (Read 7578 times)

Offline TwigsUSAN

• View Profile
DynDNS.com Update
« on: September 24, 2010, 07:33:01 pm »
Hello everyone.  First off, I have to say that I am a newb with pfSense.  I heard about pfSense while listening to FLOSS on the twit.tv network  Since then I have been running a pfSense box for about 4-5 months.

I just started to really use the dyndns update so I can VPN into my home network and also to make VOIP calls from my PBX.  Yes, I know, I'm not normal.

Well, I've have been have trouble with pfSense updating my ip address.  It seems to update it when it feel like.  My internet service is a PPoE connect with DHCP with a wireless internet provider.  Normally what happens is I can ping/access my network for a day or two.  Then I have no access for another day or two.  My guess is that I have had a ip address change, but it's not getting updated to dyndns.com.  Is there a way to have pfSense update the ip address more often then it does?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  I'm currently running 1.2.3.  Would love to install 2.0, but I want to wait until I can obtain a newer server.

Thanks in advance.

Offline Cry Havok

• Global Moderator
  • Backup: n. What you should have done yesterday.
    • View Profile
Re: DynDNS.com Update
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2010, 04:08:59 pm »
You need more than guesses to troubleshoot with.

Is pfSense the device with the WAN IP, or does your modem have the WAN IP?  Have you checked the logs of the update client to find out what's happening?  When you can't access it remotely can you connect out from the network (in other words, is it that you've lost Internet access)?
If you're planning on PMing me to ask me to look at a thread, or for individual support, don't.

Offline TwigsUSAN

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2010, 07:46:38 pm »