pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100  (Read 28718 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Evgeny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2011, 08:07:43 am »
Hi,

I can do both PHP and CSS. I can take this if Supermule and Evgeny are busy. :)

[ simon.cpu ]
Hi,
I am 75% done. But if you want to do it for $100 please go ahead, I think 2low4zero will be happy (as nobody else is willing to pay) ;-)

Offline 2low4zero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2011, 08:55:20 am »
Really!?!

Do I owe you a little cash Evgeny?  200 bucks for chips and beverages?  I know that amount certainly doesn't pay you for your time and effort.  And I don't suppose my gratitude will buy you much on Amazon or NewEgg, but you have it none-the-less.  Thank you.

I kind of thought others would find this feature to have some value....

Feel free to pm me with the particulars for payment if you wish.  I'll be happy to pay promptly.

Many thanks.

Offline Evgeny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2011, 09:00:46 am »
Do I owe you a little cash Evgeny?
Let's test it first -) I'll PM you when it is ready and on how to test it.

Offline Evgeny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2011, 05:50:04 pm »
Ok, I redid lots of css, added/removed/modified some pictures, now the whole theme adjusts to browser's window size pretty nice.
Now I am trying to make it perfect by letting web-server to decide how many columns to give you for widgets (based on width of your browser window) but I hit a roadblock that I can't seem to find solution for.
How can php code (server side) be aware of browser window current width (client side)? I tried cookie but it works only if you refresh after resizing the window...
Any hints will be appreciated. I really would not like to hard code number of columns...
Thanks.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21404
  • Karma: +1436/-26
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2011, 05:53:40 pm »
It probably can't, because that has to be determined by javascript.

Why does the PHP code have to know? Couldn't you shuffle the widgets around or rewrite the widget container using only javascript?
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline simoncpu

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • simoncpu was here
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2011, 09:04:25 pm »
Ok, I redid lots of css, added/removed/modified some pictures, now the whole theme adjusts to browser's window size pretty nice.
Now I am trying to make it perfect by letting web-server to decide how many columns to give you for widgets (based on width of your browser window) but I hit a roadblock that I can't seem to find solution for.
How can php code (server side) be aware of browser window current width (client side)? I tried cookie but it works only if you refresh after resizing the window...
Any hints will be appreciated. I really would not like to hard code number of columns...
Thanks.
Just do something like:

Code: [Select]
<script>
var foobar = "123";
window.location = "http://example.org/script.php?var=" + foobar;
</script>

$_GET['var'] will then contain the value "123". Of course, it will all depend on what you're trying to do. A better solution is to modify the HTML using JavaScript instead. :)
« Last Edit: January 15, 2011, 09:06:01 pm by simoncpu »

Offline 2low4zero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #21 on: January 18, 2011, 12:17:43 pm »
All,

Evgeny is, for lack of a better phrase, THE MAN!  And the bounty has been paid.  Thanks go out to SimonCPU, SuperMule, and Jimp on this one.  I appreciate the input.

Now then, Evgeny wanted to open the floor for discussions regarding auto-detecting browser dimensions versus just manually selecting 3 or 4 columns.  Can anyone give a good argument on why one method might be superior to the other?

Also, here are a couple of links to some full-sized sample images for your TMI-Candy enjoyment;

http://mail.manske.org/Advancing-Column01.jpg
http://mail.manske.org/Advancing-Column03.jpg

Hopefully Evgeny can push this into the repository sometime soon and the core team will accept it.

Thanks again everyone.

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #22 on: January 18, 2011, 12:22:02 pm »
Please send patches to coreteam@pfsense.org so I can look them over.  We *MIGHT* be able to get these in if they are trivial.... But no promises until I can judge the risk factor being this late in the BETA cycle.

EDIT: oh by the way, that looks incredible!
« Last Edit: January 18, 2011, 12:25:18 pm by sullrich »

Offline Evgeny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #23 on: January 18, 2011, 12:27:29 pm »
This is done as a package now. I was not hoping that you could push it to pfSense mainline.
modified:
- index.php
- fbegin.inc
- fend.inc
- all.css for pfsense_ng theme
and added several pictures.
Still want to see patches or should I just push new package to packages in gitorious?
Thanks.

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #24 on: January 18, 2011, 12:37:02 pm »
Why would you not want this stuff included?


Offline Evgeny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #25 on: January 18, 2011, 12:42:55 pm »
Just because it is not tested enough and might badly affect other themes although I tried to avoid this. -( Lots of css stuff looked puzzling to me as usually you do not understand other's people thoughts ver well when they design web-pages using css (all this coordinates, margins, pads, relative-ness etc).
Anyway I'll provide patches and you decide.

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Karma: +7/-2348
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #26 on: January 18, 2011, 12:53:16 pm »
OK I understand your hesitation and can appreciate that.

I'll look it over and worst case scenario we get it in for 2.1.

Offline Evgeny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1808
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #27 on: January 18, 2011, 02:12:02 pm »
I've sent patches.
I've got $300 from bounty starter. Thanks!!!
I've donated $100 out of these $300 to pfSense. Thank you, pfSense team!

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2530
  • Karma: +77/-102
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #28 on: January 18, 2011, 02:20:37 pm »
This is just awesomeness!!

Thx Evgeny! looks very good! Sorry I couldnt contribute more than I did.
Kind regards Brian


Offline 2low4zero

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Dashboard - 3rd Column - $100
« Reply #29 on: January 18, 2011, 03:28:54 pm »
I think we did a good thing here for the whole community.  And I obviously wanted it bad enough to pay for it and test it.  I hope the core team finds it safe and suitable for inclusion before 2.0 goes RC.  Maybe not, but it's obviously cool enough to include down the line.

Thanks again, Evgeny.