pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: IPv6 testing  (Read 62106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #300 on: April 19, 2011, 02:08:25 pm »
You'll have to ask that in a embbeded board. No idea.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14932
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #301 on: April 21, 2011, 12:45:57 pm »
I've noticed line 167 of system_firmware_settings.php disables gitsync in web gui on platforms such as nanobsd.  Since there are nanobsd IPv6 images and as far as I can tell it works fine on nanobsd...is there some other reason this feature is disabled on the web gui?

Code: [Select]
<?php if(file_exists("/usr/local/bin/git") && $g['platform'] == "pfSense"): ?>


Probably because when that was first implemented, it didn't work on NanoBSD, and I'd still be inclined to not do a gitsync on NanoBSD in general, since the large number of CF writes involved would be detrimental to the lifetime of the CF.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #302 on: April 25, 2011, 03:38:20 pm »
openvpn with ipv6 support is now included, it will slowly be integrated over the next few weeks.

The biggest issue is that most clients do not support it yet.

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1049
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #303 on: April 25, 2011, 07:01:55 pm »
openvpn with ipv6 support is now included, it will slowly be integrated over the next few weeks.

The biggest issue is that most clients do not support it yet.

I gitsync and updated my snapshot. I'm seeing this error in my OpenVPN logs and my RoadWarrior service wont start:

Code: [Select]
Apr 25 19:58:40 openvpn[5266]: Use --help for more information.
Apr 25 19:58:40 openvpn[5266]: Options error: --tun-ipv6 cannot be used with --mode server

I was able to get it running by manually editing the server1.conf file, removing the tun-ipv6 entry
« Last Edit: April 25, 2011, 07:07:42 pm by Cino »

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #304 on: April 26, 2011, 12:10:04 am »
You have a old openvpn binary, you need to update.

Offline Koen Zomers

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #305 on: May 03, 2011, 06:35:40 am »
The javascript on the services_dhcpv6.php page is a work in progress. We'll need to fix that.

Can I help with this issue Databeestje?

Offline Koen Zomers

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #306 on: May 03, 2011, 07:54:20 am »
@Databeestje, I believe I have found a bug caused by a change you did last week in the DHCPv6 service. I also believe to have found the solution for it. I have described it in this forum post:

http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,33955.msg187311.html#msg187311

Could you have a look at it?

Offline alexis.olivier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #307 on: May 25, 2011, 09:13:46 am »
Hello everybody,

I just reported a bug into pfSense bugtracker (http://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/1555) about DHCPv6 and "Deny unknown clients" options and there is the same bug in the v6 version but i don't know where to report it.

In line 736, you should change :
Code: [Select]
$dhcpdv6conf .= "            deny unknown clients;\n";by
Code: [Select]
$dhcpdv6conf .= "            deny unknown-clients;\n";
By the way, i can't do failover in v6... Does anyone knows more about it ?

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #308 on: May 25, 2011, 09:15:45 am »
From the specifications you can assign priorities to different dhcp servers. Not sure if this works yet.

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #309 on: June 09, 2011, 07:49:20 am »
What about fixed IP's in IPv6??
Kind regards Brian


Offline Koen Zomers

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #310 on: June 09, 2011, 11:59:05 am »
What about fixed IP's in IPv6??

What about it? It is currently already possible to configure reservations for DHCPv6 leases. Works like a charm.

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #311 on: June 09, 2011, 12:11:58 pm »
Yes....you can enable it, but cannot allocate it to interfaces asf...
Kind regards Brian


Offline Koen Zomers

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #312 on: June 09, 2011, 01:58:02 pm »
Yes....you can enable it, but cannot allocate it to interfaces asf...

If I go to /services_dhcpv6.php at the bottom I can add static reservations by entering the DUID. The DHCPv6 server nicely hands out the same reserved static IPv6 address to my client with the registered DUID. Or don't I understand you correctly?
« Last Edit: June 09, 2011, 02:09:53 pm by Koen Zomers »

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1490
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #313 on: June 09, 2011, 02:11:21 pm »
Pls show me the menu for this in the gui :)
Kind regards Brian


Offline Koen Zomers

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 testing
« Reply #314 on: June 09, 2011, 02:14:41 pm »
Sure, no problem :) Check the attached screenshots. Are you sure you have gitsynced against the latest IPv6 github?