The pfSense Store

Author Topic: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency  (Read 4045 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rpsmith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« on: February 10, 2011, 11:16:42 pm »
On some pages, the GUI "Save" Button does an apply and on others it does not.   Seems to me a "Save" should always save and apply but in any case it should be consistent on every page.

Roy...
« Last Edit: February 10, 2011, 11:18:37 pm by rpsmith »

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 11:01:17 am »
That's an endless debate that isn't likely to result in anything but a bikeshed discussion. I like mine peridot.

:-)
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline wallacebw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 10:00:09 pm »
In a perfect world, these functions would be separated for all features, but based on the underlying applications and their specific inner workings this is likely unrealistic.  

To relate it to IOS (or similar) it's the difference between editing startup-config and running-config.    

IMO, in the world of pfsense it is wise to operate under the assumption that all changes are immediate (ala editing running-config with an implied write on save).   If I ever need to edit the configuration for application at a later time or changes that must be made in bulk, I usually end up editing the xml file offline.  

For me it typically works better than screwing up your IPsec tunnel and having to drive in to fix it.   *not that I did that recently* :D
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 10:02:34 pm by wallacebw »

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2011, 11:33:12 pm »
To relate it to IOS (or similar) it's the difference between editing startup-config and running-config.    

Not really, quite the opposite. With IOS it's more like apply on change, save when you write mem.

Generally speaking, actions that require a filter reload need an apply. Actions to daemons take effect immediately. Though there are exceptions to the rule of course.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline rpsmith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2011, 12:05:00 am »
Also, hitting "Save" on some pages causes the "Apply changes" to appear.  The whole Save and Apply changes thing seems a bit too confusing to me.

Roy...

Offline wallacebw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2011, 10:19:01 pm »
To relate it to IOS (or similar) it's the difference between editing startup-config and running-config.    

Not really, quite the opposite. With IOS it's more like apply on change, save when you write mem.

Generally speaking, actions that require a filter reload need an apply. Actions to daemons take effect immediately. Though there are exceptions to the rule of course.

You are correct 100% for pages that separate the save and apply functions.   What I did not clearly state was the fact that I always treat pfsense as though I am editing running config as I cannot always remember which pages have the functions separated

Offline _igor_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2011, 02:41:38 am »
What about the addition of "Apply" in the "save"-function? Its only some PHP-code? Why clicking twice if one time is enough? It doesn't make ANY sense to cklick twice. Sorry, but i don't understand why its "an endless debate". The message is clear as water: I change something and want to change that setting. Its more than clear, no questions about. Is it winblows?

Offline rancor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2011, 05:35:19 am »
What about the addition of "Apply" in the "save"-function? Its only some PHP-code? Why clicking twice if one time is enough? It doesn't make ANY sense to cklick twice. Sorry, but i don't understand why its "an endless debate". The message is clear as water: I change something and want to change that setting. Its more than clear, no questions about. Is it winblows?

But you may not always want to apply to every single step. You may want to add all items and save between them and then you are done you will press apply like when you are adding several firewall rules.

// rancor

Offline _igor_

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 602
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2011, 06:06:38 am »
You're right. But, and here is the big problem: In the most cases you have to "Apply changes" FIRST before you can change other things. Thats the big "I'm a winblows-feature" here.  And the consense is "not very practical"...

Offline rpsmith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2011, 08:41:58 am »
I would like to see the "Save" button renamed to "Save and Apply" and only have the "Apply changes" show up when it's possible to apply changes without doing a save.

Roy...

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2011, 09:48:49 am »
And here's the endless debate of personal preferences... It works like it is, I don't see it changing any time soon... and I still want a peridot bikeshed.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline rpsmith

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2011, 10:33:28 am »
from a user perspective, it's confusing, inconsistent and appears to be not well thought out.  from a coder's point of view, it may well make perfect sense. and yes, it's a minor problem that doesn't effect functionality.

speaking of coders, Thanks for all the hard work and a really great firewall!

Roy...

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2011, 11:29:36 am »
from one specific user perspective, it's confusing, inconsistent and appears to be not well thought out.  from a coder's point of view, it may well make perfect sense. and yes, it's a minor problem that doesn't effect functionality.

speaking of coders, Thanks for all the hard work and a really great firewall!

Roy...

Fixed that for you. :-)
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline SeventhSon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2011, 08:41:03 am »
I would like to see the "Save" button renamed to "Save and Apply" and only have the "Apply changes" show up when it's possible to apply changes without doing a save.

Roy...
Seems right to me:

- "Save and Apply" label for buttons that change thing immediately;
- "Save" label for buttons that only write config, which you can apply later;
- Are there more options?

Seems more descriptive to what the button actually does.

Seems sensible, requires going through all the php files to sort change the labels for some buttons, though. But no recoding of the save and/or apply mechanism itself.

Minor issue imho.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: GUI "Save" Button Inconsistency
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2011, 08:47:08 am »
I wouldn't want that though, often I want to make a batch of firewall rule changes (perhaps one of which might disrupt traffic flow, but the final result wouldn't) and then apply them all at once.

What makes sense or seems good for one person is probably not going to make someone else happy. You can't please everyone.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!