pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: NOT SOLVED !! : Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere  (Read 23837 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
NOT SOLVED !! : Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« on: February 23, 2011, 06:44:46 am »
I have latest snapshot of pfSense 2.0 Beta-5. I use it on vSphere ESXi hypervisor. I'v installed the Open-VM-Tools package, but this seems not to be working any more. Usually you get info that you have vm-tools installed and you get info of your interfaces etc... but not anymore. What's wrong in Open-vm-tools package when using vSphere hypervisor?

Open-VM-Tools version:217847
« Last Edit: May 16, 2011, 03:18:04 am by Clouseau »
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline AhnHEL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2011, 01:20:04 pm »
The OpenVM Tools package doesnt work with 2.0 and ESXi.  Try the following instructions using the shell command ( option 8 ) in pfsense console menu:

1. Install prerequisites


When running on a 64 bit installation, run
pkg_add -r compat6x-amd64

When running On a 32 bit installation, run
pkg_add -r compat6x-i386 (Not tested but this should be it)

2. Install perl

pkg_add -r perl

3. 

Link the newly installed libraries so VMWare can find it


ln -s /usr/local/lib/compat/libm.so.4 /lib

ln -s /usr/local/lib/compat/libc.so.6 /lib

ln -s /usr/local/lib/compat/libthr.so.2 /lib

4. Install tools


Select "Install/Upgrade VMware Tools" in VMWare
 ESXi
Cd /mnt

Mkdir cdrom

Mount –t cd9660 /dev/acd0 /mnt/cdrom

Cd /tmp

Tar –xvf /mnt/cdrom/vmware-freebsd-tools.tar.gz

cd vmware-tools-distrib

./vmware-install.pl (Perl script, this is why Perl is installed)
Accept all defaults (press enter 8 times)

5. To clean up:


cd ..

rm -r vmware-tools-distrib
AhnHEL (Angel)
NYC

3 pfSense sites: 2.1 RELEASE (amd64)
Dell 745 SFF E4400 @ 2.0Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
Dell 755 SFF E6550 @ 2.3Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
White Box i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, 114/6 Mbps, SSD
OpenVPN (Site to Site, Road Warrior), IPSec Mobile, UPnP Gaming, Traffic Shaping, Snort, Suricata

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2011, 03:48:16 am »
Ok - thanks! So Open-VM-Tools are useless. I must follow up your good advice and install propriatery drivers. This must be done every time pfSense upgrades?
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline AhnHEL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2011, 03:51:43 am »
No, vmware tools will maintain through upgrades so no need to reinstall everytime.

Credit to Peter Overtoom for the howto

http://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/844
« Last Edit: February 24, 2011, 04:04:27 am by onhel »
AhnHEL (Angel)
NYC

3 pfSense sites: 2.1 RELEASE (amd64)
Dell 745 SFF E4400 @ 2.0Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
Dell 755 SFF E6550 @ 2.3Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
White Box i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, 114/6 Mbps, SSD
OpenVPN (Site to Site, Road Warrior), IPSec Mobile, UPnP Gaming, Traffic Shaping, Snort, Suricata

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2011, 02:55:34 pm »
Does anyone have any info when open-vm-tools package is fixed ? I noticed that this bug has been open over half a year and seems to stalled. We have "manual" not so user friendly work around with propriatery vm-tools. I would like to use open-vm-tools package with single click and install method (works for cli amatours like me). So any info on this issue?

http://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/844
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline Rezin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2011, 08:34:11 pm »
Seems to work for me. *shrug*

  • pfSense 2.0-RC1 (amd64) built on Mon Feb 28 20:07:11 EST 2011
  • VMware ESXi 4.1.0 Build 34841
  • Open-VM-Tools 217847

That shows as "Unmanaged" in vSphere Client, along with the IP addresses.

Offline focalguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2011, 11:28:42 pm »
Seems to work for me. *shrug*

  • pfSense 2.0-RC1 (amd64) built on Mon Feb 28 20:07:11 EST 2011
  • VMware ESXi 4.1.0 Build 34841
  • Open-VM-Tools 217847

That shows as "Unmanaged" in vSphere Client, along with the IP addresses.

Same for me but
2.0-RC1 (i386)
built on Thu Mar 3 17:43:05 EST 2011


I'm not sure what it is supposed to say in the "Unmanaged" part but it seems to be working.

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2011, 11:49:37 am »
Seems to work for me. *shrug*

  • pfSense 2.0-RC1 (amd64) built on Mon Feb 28 20:07:11 EST 2011
  • VMware ESXi 4.1.0 Build 34841
  • Open-VM-Tools 217847

That shows as "Unmanaged" in vSphere Client, along with the IP addresses.

Yes - it installs just fine, but does not give any information about interfaces in vSphere ESX guest info. (No IP addresses shown at all)
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline AhnHEL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2011, 03:07:59 am »
OK status in VMWare Tools.
AhnHEL (Angel)
NYC

3 pfSense sites: 2.1 RELEASE (amd64)
Dell 745 SFF E4400 @ 2.0Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
Dell 755 SFF E6550 @ 2.3Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
White Box i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, 114/6 Mbps, SSD
OpenVPN (Site to Site, Road Warrior), IPSec Mobile, UPnP Gaming, Traffic Shaping, Snort, Suricata

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2011, 06:15:01 am »
OK status in VMWare Tools.

Hmmm... yep! That's what I'm looking for. Must figure out why I don't get that info in my vSphere 4.1 with latest RC.
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2011, 10:05:37 am »
Today I updated all my vSphere ESXi servers with 4.1.0 update 1 patch and all other available patches. Then I updated all my pfSense 2 RC1 firewalls to latest firmware. Then I reinstalled open-vm-tools package's (just in case). Rebooted pfSense firewall.

Now vmtools are in Unmanaged status but still no interface information. Just can't figure this out. This should not be this complex to install open-vm-tools succesfully working.
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline AhnHEL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 572
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2011, 12:52:44 pm »
Did several installs a couple of days ago trying to iron out an issue with my pfsense box and tried out the OpenVM Tools package again.  Got the Unmanaged status, IP address, DNS name and Host.  Seemed to be working just fine on my ESXi setup.
AhnHEL (Angel)
NYC

3 pfSense sites: 2.1 RELEASE (amd64)
Dell 745 SFF E4400 @ 2.0Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
Dell 755 SFF E6550 @ 2.3Ghz, 2GB RAM, 20/5 Mbps
White Box i5 3570k @ 4.4Ghz, 16GB RAM, 114/6 Mbps, SSD
OpenVPN (Site to Site, Road Warrior), IPSec Mobile, UPnP Gaming, Traffic Shaping, Snort, Suricata

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2011, 06:28:54 am »
Did several installs a couple of days ago trying to iron out an issue with my pfsense box and tried out the OpenVM Tools package again.  Got the Unmanaged status, IP address, DNS name and Host.  Seemed to be working just fine on my ESXi setup.

I have istalled 2.0-RC1 (i386) built on Wed Mar 9 18:16:20 EST 2011. Open-VM-Tools Package 217847, 3 network adapters with Adapter type E1000.

One pfSense has now Unmaneged status and one Not installed status. Both pfSenses has the same version. All the Interfaces has manual ip-settings. No dhcp in use. Funny but I don't have any success to get any interface information.

Host Server: Dell PowerEdge 2950, 16GB RAM, 8 CPU cores x2,659GHzRAM, Intel Xenon E5430@2,66GHz
VMware vSphere 4.1.0 U1 Build 348481

Does non of you have this issue?
« Last Edit: March 11, 2011, 04:09:51 pm by Clouseau »
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline regis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2011, 11:02:33 am »
I'm also experiencing strange behavior with open-VM-tools. It shows as unmanaged in Vsphere client and no information displayed about ip adresses and hostname, just like you.

I'm using pfSense 2.0-RC1 (i386) built on Mon Mar 14 11:25:06 EDT 2011 on ESXi 4.1.0,260247, em adapters

But even worse, with open-VM-tools installed, it seems that packets are dropped or lost. MSN messenger keeps disconnecting every 30s or so, downloads stalls after 30s

Once open-VM-tools package deleted and pfSense rebooted, everything's fine...

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - "not installed" on vSphere
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2011, 03:43:42 pm »
Okey, I'n not alone  ;D

I'm been banging my head to the wall (not helping any) with this issue. I'm lucky that I don't have any usability issues like regis. I have not done any "stress test" to pfSense with vm-tools installed just to figure out is there any major issues.

I really hope that develepers of vm-tools picks this problem up. Open-VM-Tools is only needed in virtualized environments and now it's non working => Open-Vm-Tools package is proken!
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit