pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: NOT SOLVED !! : Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere  (Read 23840 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online tojaktoty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #45 on: April 19, 2011, 03:25:03 am »
Disregarding the present openvmtools issues, any advantages using amd64 versus i386 on esxi?

Offline luma

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #46 on: April 21, 2011, 05:05:51 am »
Hi,

I'm using pfSense 32bits on VMWare ESXi.

Concerning package installation issue, Martin(mfuchs) has recently made progress but it seems that the last problem is availibility of icu-4.6.1.tbz.

Do you think it's possible to sync this file from Martin (http://pfsense.trendchiller.com/packages/icu-4.6.1.tbz) to the pfsense one (http://files.pfsense.org/packages/8/All/)?

Thanks for all your effort!
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 05:11:53 am by luma »

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #47 on: May 01, 2011, 09:50:46 am »
Hi,

I'm using pfSense 32bits on VMWare ESXi.

Concerning package installation issue, Martin(mfuchs) has recently made progress but it seems that the last problem is availibility of icu-4.6.1.tbz.

Do you think it's possible to sync this file from Martin (http://pfsense.trendchiller.com/packages/icu-4.6.1.tbz) to the pfsense one (http://files.pfsense.org/packages/8/All/)?

Thanks for all your effort!

This missing icu-4.6.1.tbz package has been synced at 29'th April, has anyone tryed the installation after this? I will do it tomorrow but I'm interested to hear if this issue now fixed?
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline kaugustyn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #48 on: May 02, 2011, 01:14:31 am »
Hi

This missing icu-4.6.1.tbz issue is resolved, but OpenVM Tools hangs on installation. Tested on yesterday on 2 installations, will try today for more investigation.

But thanks for correction :)
Best regards

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere - CRITICAL !!
« Reply #49 on: May 02, 2011, 03:25:55 am »
okey,

I made an upgrade test again. Open-VM-Tools fails to install. There is some kind  of parse error(Syntax error) on line 13.

Now Dashboard shows all the time that some "Packages are currently being reinstalled in background". But the reality is that there is nothing packages in reinstallation (only Open-VM-Tools hangs this process) I had to reboot the firewall - now no access to firewall web GUI !! Had to reboot webConfigurator to gain access again. Now - no access to WAN network. It totally lost it's connectivity. Then I tried to remove the Open-VM-Tools package. No luck there. Even this hangs up now. It seems to stuck in "Loading package instructions..."

My pfSense is now dead - R.I.P  8)

This situation has changed from bad to worse! Open-VM-Tools installation problem is now CRITICAL!
« Last Edit: May 02, 2011, 03:27:39 am by Clouseau »
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #50 on: May 04, 2011, 12:36:13 pm »
Ping... anyone?

This issue is now in critical stage. This package breaks pfSense!
---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline focalguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 235
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #51 on: May 04, 2011, 01:11:03 pm »
This information would probably be more useful in the ticket:
http://redmine.pfsense.org/issues/1385

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #52 on: May 04, 2011, 06:45:29 pm »
Reinstall the package in about 5 minutes, the syntax error should be fixed.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline TooMeeK

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #53 on: May 07, 2011, 10:47:17 am »
Hmm..
May I attach something?
QEMU PC emulator version 0.12.5 (qemu-kvm-0.12.5), Copyright (c) 2003-2008 Fabrice Bellard
using KVM.

On Debian I have "virtio-net" NIC attached.
On pFsense I have "Intel E1000" NIC attached, becouse pfSense won't recognize "virtio-net". Shame..

Measured throughput Client (Gigabit NIC) -> VM (attached to Gigabit NIC bridge)
Debian: ~860 Mbps
pfSense: ~260 MBps

Let's do more tests. Using 2.0-RC1 (i386) built on Thu Apr 14 18:50:50 EDT 2011.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2011, 10:56:47 am by TooMeeK »

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #54 on: May 07, 2011, 11:06:33 am »
That has nothing to do with VMware or VMware tools, start your own thread please.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline JoeUser

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #55 on: May 08, 2011, 04:12:27 am »
Open-VM-Tools 217847 working on 2.0-RC1 (amd64) built on Sat May 7 23:04:11 EDT 2011.
Tools status in vSphere client shows "Unmanaged", tools are running and kernel modules are present.

Offline danswartz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1167
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #56 on: May 08, 2011, 07:45:54 am »
Dunno how many folks know this - I was told this on a vmware forum: people get confused and worried when they see "Unmanaged" for the vm tools status.  That is fine.  What it means is it is vm tools not installed via the esx/esxi interface, do esx/esxi is not managing it for you.  If it said 'not installed' or 'not running', then worry.  HTH.

Offline Clouseau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 111
  • Wheeers thö bög?
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #57 on: May 08, 2011, 02:06:52 pm »
I will have a try tomorrow and hope that tools runs fine. Unmanaged status is just telling that fact that it's not managed by Vmware vSphere client. Vmware should change this status info to something much better (Open Source Tools OK)

---------------------------------------------------------
Multible Alix 2D13 - pfSense 2.0 32bit
Multible Vmware vSphere - pfSense 2.0 32&64bit

Offline calvinz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #58 on: May 09, 2011, 08:38:18 am »
so anyone had luck installing open-vm-tools up to this point ?

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14935
    • View Profile
Re: CRITICAL: Open-VM-Tools - NOT WORKING on vSphere
« Reply #59 on: May 09, 2011, 08:40:16 am »
so anyone had luck installing open-vm-tools up to this point ?

As I said earlier in the thread, it loads fine on 32 and 64 bit VMs for me now.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!