The pfSense Store

Poll

I am using pfSense 1.2.2 and I need to load balance my http traffic using two routing tables (Example Table A & Table B).

I Tried using apt-get install iproute but failed
0 (0%)
Finally I want make sure this can be implemented on pfsense or iproute2 is introduce on the new versions of pfsesne
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Author Topic: Install iproute2 package on pfsense  (Read 2483 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline asankaj2006

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Install iproute2 package on pfsense
« on: May 18, 2011, 07:48:00 am »
I want to know how may I install iproute2 package on pfsense & routing table creation.If anyone can provide me with some examples that would great.

cheers
Asanka.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14976
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install iproute2 package on pfsense
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2011, 10:45:40 am »
pfSense is based on FreeBSD, not Linux.

There is no such "iproute2" program for FreeBSD.

You can use pfSense's built-in features to do policy routing/load balancing in many different ways, probably better than by just using multiple routing tables.

For programs running on FreeBSD, multiple routing tables are handled by setfib(1) but that doesn't do anything for traffic passing through the router.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline asankaj2006

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Install iproute2 package on pfsense
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2011, 12:00:42 pm »
Dear Jimp
Thanks a Lot for vital information.

My LAN is 192.168.0.0/21.It has 2 gateway servers. one gateway is on pfsense and the other on Linux Box.


I need loadbalance the traffic of 192.168.5.0/21 subnet  and 192.168.7.0/21 subnet  using routing tables,I need to divert the http traffice that is coming on to pfsense LAN interface to other Linux box (gateway)

The reason I cant use policy based routing is, the LAN interface of the Linux box is not visible on the gateway list of pfsense.

cheers
Asanka.