The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Continue lost configuration  (Read 1853 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lazaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Continue lost configuration
« on: May 24, 2011, 11:10:09 pm »
Hello

I have next config:

LAN 172.16.10.1/16
WAN 192.168.50.254/24
VLAN 10 (wan 1) 192.168.5.254/24
VLAN 20 (wan 2) 192.168.1.254/24
VLAN 30 (wan 3) 192.168.15.254/24

squid, squidguard, freeradius, capive portal(authenticatd with freeradius)

I probe the configuration in laboratory with 2 clients(wired and wireless), and all works well, when I put pfsense in production in a college, with about 60 clients, in a certan time, usually 1 hour or less, the pfsense reboot suddently and it lost all the configuration, when restarts it ask for a setup vlans and interfaces. I don't know what's the problem, If I  take the last configuration stored in /cf/config/backup and put in /cf/config/config.xml, there is all ok when I reboot, but after I put again in production, again, pfsense reboots suddently and lost all the configuration.

1.- How I can debug the problem?
2.- How I can say that take the last config from the /cf/config/backup automatically???

Thanks

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Continue lost configuration
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 02:07:47 pm »
before you copy over the backup, save the one that is "bad".

It may be that something is corrupting the config or entering a value causing invalid xml, running the "bad" config through xmllint may reveal the problem.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline lazaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Continue lost configuration
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 04:08:46 pm »
How can I parse the backup config file and check the problem? maybe the character, or stressed vowels(,,,,)

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Continue lost configuration
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 04:24:36 pm »
If this is on 2.0, you can just run "xmllint config.xml" or whatever file you want, and it will check it for invalid xml
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline lazaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Continue lost configuration
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2011, 04:44:05 pm »
it's 1.2.3 version, how I can convert the config file to 2.0? I tried to import from webpage and I can't

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Continue lost configuration
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2011, 06:52:25 pm »
You can restore a valid 1.2.3 config to a 2.0 system. If it doesn't work, there must be some invalid XML in it. The most common way that happens is international characters in description fields.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline lazaro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Continue lost configuration
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2011, 09:57:21 pm »
I have checked my config backup with the xmllint command and it has problems with letter , I change it and I can restore the configuration from 1.2.3 to 2.0 version. Maybe that's the problems with continuous automatic reset configuration, I gonna do test to confirm that.