pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?  (Read 4105 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« on: July 10, 2011, 02:51:53 pm »
I have my freenas server on 192.168.1.250 on my lan interface.

I am trying to access my share via my Wlan interface which is 192.168.2.1,

but i cant gain access to my shares.

Is there a special rule i need to create and can someone shed some light.

thank you

Offline ericab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2011, 04:22:46 pm »
yes, those are two different networks; youll need to add a PASS rule on your WLAN tab to be able to access the specific IP of your freeNAS box.

source: WLAN subnet (or narrow down to IP of computer your trying to access freenas from; if that PC uses dhcp to aquire its address set a static rule in the pf dhcp server for that device)

destination: 192.168.1.250

protocol: tcp udp

source port: ANY

dest port: 80 & 443  (set an alias to use multiple ports, dont fill in 80 and then 443 in rules page, that obviously will open a range which is not what you want)


--- turn logging ON on the pf box to trouble shoot; it may very well work after the above rule is applied; if not and you can see no logs showing an active block, the settings in freeNAS need to be tweaked

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2011, 05:41:45 pm »
thanks for suggestion, but it does not work

Offline ericab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2011, 06:11:26 pm »
oops; i completely misread what you had written;
i gave you the ports to access your webUI i dont know what i was thinking...

what protocol are you using to share files ? is the a samba share ? NFS ?

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2011, 06:18:06 pm »
samba

Offline ericab

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 207
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2011, 07:43:27 pm »
so please try allowing the following ports:

netbios-ns 137/udp # NetBIOS Name Service
netbios-dgm 138/udp # NetBIOS Datagram Service
netbios-ssn 139/tcp # NetBIOS Session Service
microsoft-ds 445/tcp # Microsoft Directory Service

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6326
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2011, 02:42:49 am »
You're probably missing a default gateway or have it set wrong on FreeNAS would be my first guess.

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2011, 02:59:48 am »
i have bridged my interfaces to save the hassle.

I might try your suggestion in my next snapshot test.

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2011, 07:11:56 am »
You're probably missing a default gateway or have it set wrong on FreeNAS would be my first guess.

ive been told that it wont work because i need a win server apparently.

samba does not allow shares to different subnets ?

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2011, 07:13:10 am »
only fix atm i have found is to bridge wlan and lan , therefore allowing nas and wifi on same subnet in order for me to access my share.

ideally i dont want to do this though and would like to keep my interfaces separate.

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5065
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2011, 07:15:07 am »
I assume you're talking about accessing the share via "my network places".
If you access the share via it's IP directly is should work.

start --> run --> \\IP_of_share
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2011, 10:07:45 am »
I assume you're talking about accessing the share via "my network places".
If you access the share via it's IP directly is should work.

start --> run --> \\IP_of_share

yes and also by mapping network drive.

I definitely think its a problem with the subnet though.

because the nas is on 192.168.1.0/24 and my wifi is on 192.168.2.0/24

therefore i assume wifi is not allowed to access the nas.

no matter what rules i create it doesn't work.

I will try ericab suggestion regarding opening them ports. but for now the bridging seems the only solution to work for me.


Offline Darkk

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2011, 02:20:34 pm »
I think samba and windows are picky about file shares.  Might be easier to create a rule on the WLAN to allow traffic from the NAS to your LAN so it can broadcast itself to your LAN network.  You can easily do that adding your FreeNAS as the Source and protocol to ANY and rest by defaults.  This way rest of the hosts on the WLAN won't have access to your LAN.

Darkk

Offline sandman06

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2011, 12:52:07 pm »
has anyone actually have a similar scenario?

because these suggestion do not actually work.

I would appreciate someone print screen shot their rules and posting them for me to have a example to follow.

Offline GruensFroeschli

  • Green Frog
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5065
  • No i will not fix your computer!
    • View Profile
    • FFXI related
Re: Accessing freenas from different subnet ?
« Reply #14 on: July 12, 2011, 04:45:18 pm »
Yes i run the same setup and it works just fine.

My firewall rule for the WLAN:
We do what we must, because we can.
(Except when you PM me to help you directly - DONT: keep your issues in the forum)