Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: Pfsense on mikrotik routerboard?  (Read 6649 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tabernacle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Pfsense on mikrotik routerboard?
« on: August 05, 2011, 11:18:49 am »
Hi,

I found a thread with same topic, but wasn't able to reply to it. Question was asked back in Nov-2010, and the answer was that early work was underway.

Does anyone know if the situation has changed, is there a MIPS capable pfsense version that would run on Routerboard ?

Kind regards

Offline Jason Litka

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 947
    • View Profile
    • Utter Ramblings
Re: Pfsense on mikrotik routerboard?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2011, 08:37:45 am »
No.
I can break anything.

Online jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14938
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense on mikrotik routerboard?
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2011, 12:08:32 pm »
There was work going on to get pfSense working on RouterStationPRO, but the funding dried up and nobody had the need/desire to keep it going.

At the time, cross-building didn't work so it was very cumbersome to do anything because you had to rebuild world, ports, etc, all on the teensy little board. Could easily take days between trying simple troubleshooting tasks. Not exactly something people jump at the chance to hack on. :-)
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline tabernacle

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Pfsense on mikrotik routerboard?
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2011, 06:52:44 am »
Sorry for late reply ...

That makes a lot of sense considering the specs of the Mikrotik stuff. Many of my own hours have been taken up trying to push a square peg into a round hole !

Primary reason for asking was the cost of the hardware platform, a 5 port gigabit Routerboard 750G or GL runs to around 50 in UK. The current hardware platform I'm running pfsense on Jetway Atom MB with 5 gigabit ports is more like 175.

My experimentation with the Mikrotik RouterOS on PC platform, I found it difficult to use, since I'm more of a windows hacker than command line. Pfsense on the other hand is very well laid out and easy to do what I wanted, multi-wan attached to single private lan.

Anyway, I'm happy with what I have it works well, and was a lot cheaper than the alternative Draytek Multi-Wan solution that I was looking at.