The pfSense Store

Author Topic: SUCCESS: 3G router with pfSense 2.0 RC3  (Read 2170 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline martin42

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
SUCCESS: 3G router with pfSense 2.0 RC3
« on: August 10, 2011, 04:58:22 am »
Just wanted to report success in using an Alix 6F2 board fitted with a Mini-PCI-Express 3G radio card (Novatel EU850D miniPCIe).

http://shop.varia-store.com/product_info.php?info=p1204_UMTS---3G-Zeroshell-ready-system-with-ALIX-6F2-and-accessories.html

The only small issue is that the SIM card has to go in the SIM card slot on the Novatel card.  It doesn't work in the SIM card slot on the motherboard / front panel.    Perhaps there's an AT init string that tells the Novatel card to read the SIM card slot on the motherboard.

For UK users needing SIM cards with routed static IP blocks (for No-NAT mode), I can recommend www.aaisp.net (I have no connection to them other than as a happy customer).

- Martin

Offline petterw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SUCCESS: 3G router with pfSense 2.0 RC3
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 03:26:53 pm »
Sounds good, could you share some more details about your setup? I have the same card arriving in the mail soon and would like to set it up as a backup WAN interface.

Offline martin42

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SUCCESS: 3G router with pfSense 2.0 RC3
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2011, 07:36:33 pm »
Well it all just works really.  I don't have the systems in front of me just now, but I seem to recall that you just define the pfSense WAN interface as PPP, and you get the choice of /dev/ttyUSB0 or similar for the PPP interface.  I will try to grab a screenshot from one of the boxes at work.

Cheers

- Martin

Offline martin42

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SUCCESS: 3G router with pfSense 2.0 RC3
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2011, 11:08:44 am »
OK, just checked...

Very simple:-
  • Set WAN to be PPP.
  • Set phone number to *99#
  • Set Modem Port to be /dev/cuaU0.0 (from the drop-down list of choices)

Screen shot attached.