Netgate SG-1000 microFirewall

Author Topic: Unable to install any packages  (Read 165 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline srjinatl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Unable to install any packages
« on: August 02, 2017, 07:18:15 am »
I just configured a new Netgate SG-4860 as my WAN router - everything seems to be working just fine - pretty basic configuration thus far - just some static DHCP addresses and 3 port forwarding rules have been added. When I go to the package manager and select the tap to see the list of available packages to install - that list seems to populate just fine. But when I click on the +Install icon on the left - I get linked back to the Installed tab and nothing else happens - the package I selected to install never gets installed...I have looked in the system log but there is no trace of a problem there...suggestions on where else to look for what might be the problem?

I am running 2.3.4-RELEASE-p1.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2017, 04:39:44 pm by srjinatl »

Offline srjinatl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to install any packages
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2017, 07:51:37 am »
Well - decided to try a different browser - in case that was the problem - and sure enough - I switched to use Edge instead of Firefox - and was able to install packages just fine - so apparently there is some incompatibility in the web interface with Firefox when you try to install a package. The level of Firefox that I am using is 54.0.1 (32bit).

Offline Gertjan

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1955
  • Karma: +158/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to install any packages
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2017, 12:06:24 pm »
.....  - so apparently there is some incompatibility in the web interface with Firefox when you try to install a package. The level of Firefox that I am using is 54.0.1 (32bit).
Got some good and bad news for you.
I'm using also Firefox 54.0.1 (32 bits), and I can install every package when connected to pfSense.
So, your problem must be specific to your Firefox setup (try another PC to have a proof of concept right away).
Flush (empty, destroy, etc) ,your browser cache.
Start FF in save mode (not loading any plugins and other extensions).
Re install FF (and ditch your profile before).
You'll see, it will work fine.

Offline srjinatl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to install any packages
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2017, 12:33:13 am »
Ok good to know. Could very well be a problem with one of the plugins that I have installed. I will try to troubleshoot it as you suggest to see if I can fix the problem.