The pfSense Store

Author Topic: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)  (Read 86345 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline luky37

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #45 on: October 13, 2011, 03:12:44 pm »
they guy on serverfault talks about a 'faulty ATM switch with MAC 00:90:1a:a0:a1:f4 (Unisphere Solutions)', but:

- an ATM switch has no MAC address, as it has nothing to do with Ethernet
- Unisphere Solutions produces (or produced) BRAS technology, which in this case terminates the PPPoE session


Both the serverfault guy and xbipin's PPPoE sessions are terminated on an Unisphere BRAS, as we can clearly see from the traces. It may be that there is a common software defect on that BRAS.

I still don't believe in a mpd defect, as the same issue is seen on the Windows box.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #46 on: October 14, 2011, 01:00:27 am »
i guess a way around this is if its possible to bring vr1 interface down and up again with software rather than pulling the plug in between reconnect attempts, similar to how we disable an interface in windows and then enable it, this would replicate a plug pulling and a solution atleast.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #47 on: October 14, 2011, 03:46:11 am »
can clarknova test the same using the older pfsense with the older mpd which will prove whose fault it is, mpd, freebsd or BRAS

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #48 on: October 15, 2011, 05:49:15 am »
out of desperation, i shut down my alix and re flashed pfsense 1.2.3 an quickly setup the wan and lan connections to see how it behaved, first thing i noticed was as soon as my isp mode was reset, pfsense triggered a vr1 - DOWN and when the modem came up again it triggered vr1 - UP, now this doesn't happen in this new pfsense 2.0, it considers the port to be alive for some reason, bear in mind there is no switch between pfsense and the modem.

as soon as the  modem came up and vr1 showed as UP it didnt connect but nor did it show any reconenction attempts so i guess in a hurry i forgot to set that dial on demand stuff, but if i went to interfaces and clicked disconnect and then connect again then it would connect perfectly fine, also if i went to the wan page and clicked save then also it would reconnect fine so i guess it works fine compared to newer mpd.

cable unplug and replug also works fine, except due to dial on demand mis config, i had to go to interfaces and click disconnect or if it disconnected automatically then would just need to click connect and wan would be up again.

i tried multiple scenarios and all i can say i didnt have to reboot pfsense to make it reconnect which usually i have to do in pfsense 2 with the newer mpd.

so i guess that vr1 down and vr1 up during modem reset or switch off and on was key to this, i usually try reset only coz chances of a switch off and on are almost nil, in worst case it would reset itself or if there was a firmware update then it would reboot which was something like a reset only but triggered from the isp end automatically and thats when pfsense needs to be able to reconnect again once modem is up.

i wasnt able to take traces or even put a switch on the wan side because i had to get the device up asap.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #49 on: October 15, 2011, 05:51:21 am »
so you have the very same issue with the RAS client under windows and the test with the old mpd/fw release was 2 months ago. That doesn't sound like a mpd/pfsense issue to me then...

You will not be aware of configurations changes on the Service Provider side.


What happens if you just disconnect and reconnect the ethernet cable after some seconds between pfsense and modem, when the reconnect loop is occuring?



its true it happens with the RAS client but if i unplug and replug or simply disable and enable the interface and reattempt it would connect just fine

Offline clarknova

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #50 on: October 26, 2011, 05:33:07 am »
My pppoe0 interface is mlppp with 6 vlan members. After disconnecting then reconnecting the cable to the interface that is parent to these vlans, I disabled all 6 parent vlans in the GUI, hit Apply, then re-enabled all 6 parent vlans in the GUI and hit Apply. pppoe0 did not reconnect, and I had to reboot pfsense to get the WAN back.
db

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #51 on: October 26, 2011, 06:17:44 am »
the isp modem needs to detect a link down along with pfsense to be able to kill the zombie connection on the isp end also that pfsense doesnt try to renegotiate the same again but starts a fresh negotiation of a new connection

Offline clarknova

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 922
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #52 on: October 26, 2011, 06:22:15 am »
the isp modem needs to detect a link down

That's going to be a problem then, as I don't see that as a realistic scenario for me.

Actually, the most realistic scenario for me (and it has happened) is that the power goes out. My equipement is on UPS, but the ADSL provider's equipment apparently is not, so the modems lose sync but they don't lose power, and the ethernet interface doesn't go down, but pfsense loses its PPPoE connection.

This is the problem that I really need fixed, and although I'm no PPPoE expert, it seems silly to me that pfsense can't seem to deal with this.
db

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #53 on: October 26, 2011, 06:43:20 am »
mayb if u invest some in this then some1 could take it more seriously and i think there r more such ppl like us suffering from the same and i think it might have to do with FreeBSD coz in the older pfsense, when the modem looses sync, the pppoe connection used to go down as well as the power or so on the interface and FreeBSD used to report a link down but this newer pfsense and FreeBSD doesn't for some reason.

i will be out of town after a month or so and i desperately need this fixed asap as i need to keep my internet connection running while im away thousands of miles

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #54 on: October 29, 2011, 09:08:39 am »
would it be possible to send a pppoe termination packet based on previous active session before initiating a new pppoe connection?

it would require patches to mpd i guess

Offline dhatz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #55 on: October 30, 2011, 08:35:47 am »
It has been over a month since any of the pfsense developers have posted in this thread.

Have you considered posting in freebsd-net list http://lists.freebsd.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-net and/or mpd's developers at http://sourceforge.net/projects/mpd/ ?

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #56 on: October 30, 2011, 09:57:24 am »
posted in mpd on sourceforge just now

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1631
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #57 on: October 30, 2011, 10:00:05 am »
pfsense 2.0 uses mpd5 but the current version is 5.5, any1 care to test it out manually?

Offline dhatz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #58 on: October 30, 2011, 11:40:54 am »
pfsense 2.0 uses mpd5 but the current version is 5.5, any1 care to test it out manually?

pfsense's mpd5 is actually mpd v5.5 (you can check via "mpd5 -v")

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 21404
  • Karma: +1437/-26
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #59 on: November 01, 2011, 10:42:55 am »
Can someone here who can reproduce this look over the items I posted in this thread to see if anything there helps?

Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!