pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)  (Read 44691 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #90 on: April 07, 2012, 06:05:57 am »
actually the command to use was this

set link no noretry

it didnt help coz the original issue which u mentioned in that first link was his connection wasnt redialing that was due to noretry defaulting to yes but that was in mpd4 and i guess pfsense uses mpd5 in v2.0.1 so thats y that command isnt recognized, only max-redial is the command available which cant be set to some number or 0 for unlimited and -1 to disable redial which pfsense defaults it to 0 so my connection is actually redialed but due to some other reason and the isp's fiber optic modem or their bras server, mpd isnt able to reconnect untill its rebooted so obviously something different happens during pfsense reboot time connection or mayb because the vr1 resets which then allows pfsense to connect fine on reboot but to replicate that i removed the network cable as well and tried and try replugging it in but doesnt help.

Offline dhatz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1002
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #91 on: April 07, 2012, 04:25:48 pm »
xbipin,

Let me try to recap:
  • You had no problem with PPPoE auto-reconnection with pfsense 1.2.3
  • You only started having problems with 2.0-something (BETA, RC etc)
  • You are able to reproduce the problem at will
  • There are others who have a similar problem, but most pfsense users don't

I think your best option would be to obtain logs with full verbosity and post them along your mpd config files to the mpd-forum at http://sourceforge.net/projects/mpd/forums/forum/44692

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #92 on: April 07, 2012, 11:58:10 pm »
i already did that in their mailing list, hardly got any reply at all and there r many others with the problem but they r either using 1.2.3 or trying to live with 2.0.1 like me. the basic reconnection issue is mpd attempts but is unable to reconnect and if u read the past posts, i have provided logs, config etc etc almost more than 50 times now till date.

bytheway, all routers available in the market etc work very well over the same link, then y does mpd have issues?
« Last Edit: April 08, 2012, 12:00:53 am by xbipin »

Offline dhatz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1002
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #93 on: April 09, 2012, 07:01:29 am »
there r many others with the problem but they r either using 1.2.3 or trying to live with 2.0.1 like me.

Then why aren't any others bidding here to try to get it fixed?


Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #94 on: April 09, 2012, 07:16:04 am »
coz officially ermal was on this to get it solved but then mayb he realized its not a easy fix by simply patching some php code so this thread went old as i was out of town and got abandoned so most might not have read it also now but if u look at other threads here and there in the complete forum then there r quiet a few ppl suffering the same and it was already discussed many many times but didnt yield any permanent solution.

after a lot of tracing in the past also it came to light that there was something to do with the isp BRAS or pppoe server or whatever they call it and some security measures but my point is that how do commercial routers overcome this and pfsense or mpd doesnt

Offline w0w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #95 on: May 23, 2012, 09:21:35 am »
Looks like I've run into  the same issue, not absolutely the same, but similar and solution for the problem is the same - reboot of pfsense always helps.
Is there the way to reboot pfsense automatically after XX PPPoE connection retries? I know this is not the best way, but at least it works always for me.

Offline ermal

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #96 on: May 23, 2012, 10:40:02 am »
not really i backed off just other priorities first.

Sorry about that.

Offline w0w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #97 on: May 23, 2012, 01:47:30 pm »
ermal, at least you are monitoring  ::)

Looks like I've found the solution, that works at least for me
I've added two lines to the end of ppp-linkdown

ifconfig em0 down
ifconfig em0 up

And looks like reconnection bug is gone.
P.S. em0 is interface, where PPPoE is
P.P.S. I think it's related to driver.

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #98 on: May 24, 2012, 04:02:32 am »
ermal, at least you are monitoring  ::)

Looks like I've found the solution, that works at least for me
I've added two lines to the end of ppp-linkdown

ifconfig em0 down
ifconfig em0 up

And looks like reconnection bug is gone.
P.S. em0 is interface, where PPPoE is
P.P.S. I think it's related to driver.


can u mention the location of the file and where exactly did u put those lines, ill give it a try too

Offline ermal

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #99 on: May 24, 2012, 05:28:22 am »
Certainly that will reset the device by doing up/down.
Just not a generic solution :)

Offline w0w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #100 on: May 24, 2012, 08:30:07 am »
ermal, at least you are monitoring  ::)

Looks like I've found the solution, that works at least for me
I've added two lines to the end of ppp-linkdown

ifconfig em0 down
ifconfig em0 up

And looks like reconnection bug is gone.
P.S. em0 is interface, where PPPoE is
P.P.S. I think it's related to driver.


can u mention the location of the file and where exactly did u put those lines, ill give it a try too
usr/local/sbin

You can also use Commands-Find File in WinSCP if you have windows

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
if [ -f /tmp/$1up ] && [ -f /conf/$1.log ]; then
        seconds=$((`date -j +%s` - `/usr/bin/stat -f %m /tmp/$1up`))
        /usr/local/sbin/ppp-log-uptime.sh $seconds $1 &
fi
if [ "$3" != "" ]; then
echo "Removing states from $3" | logger -t ppp-linkdown
/sbin/pfctl -k 0.0.0.0/0 -k $3/32
/sbin/pfctl -k $3/32
pfctl -K $3/32
fi
if [ "$4" != "" ]; then
echo "Removing states to $4" | logger -t ppp-linkdown
/sbin/pfctl -b 0.0.0.0/32 -b $4/32

if [ -f "/tmp/${interface}_defaultgw" ]; then
route delete default $4
fi

fi
# delete the node just in case mpd cannot do that
/usr/sbin/ngctl shutdown $1:
if [ -f "/var/etc/nameserver_$1" ]; then
# Remove old entries
for nameserver in `cat /var/etc/nameserver_$1`; do
/sbin/route delete $nameserver >/dev/null 2>&1
done
/bin/rm -f /var/etc/nameserver_$1
fi
# Do not remove gateway used during filter reload.
/bin/rm -f /tmp/$1_router
/bin/rm -f /tmp/$1up
/bin/rm -f /tmp/$1_ip
/usr/local/sbin/pfSctl -c 'service reload dns'
ifconfig em0 down
ifconfig em0 up


Do not forget to replace em0 with your own device name.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 08:38:16 am by w0w »

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #101 on: May 24, 2012, 08:48:32 am »
how do we find out the device name?

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9930
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #102 on: May 24, 2012, 09:03:52 am »
how do we find out the device name?

on status interface, you can see interface name and device.

WAN interface (em0)

Offline xbipin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1220
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #103 on: May 24, 2012, 09:07:17 am »
on that it shows this
WAN interface (pppoe0)

where as im using a alix and my wan port is vr1 so should i use pppoe0 or vr1?

Offline w0w

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE reconenction fix - mpd fix ($100)
« Reply #104 on: May 24, 2012, 09:10:02 am »
vr1

You need to restart physical (port) interface, not virtual PPPoE, that I've tried to do also, by killing mpd and starting again with no luck
« Last Edit: May 24, 2012, 09:16:33 am by w0w »