The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!  (Read 3135 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fohdeesha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« on: October 15, 2011, 09:03:49 am »
Have had a box, an older AMD athlon 1.4ghz, single core, single cpu running 1.2.3 forever and it's been fantastic. Went to do a clean wipe and install of pfSense 2.0-RELEASE, and all was fine, until I get to the last screen where it lets you choose the kernel. There is no uniprocessor kernel option! Only SMP!

this screen (not my picture, I WISH I had that option) -




However, for me, the top option is simply not there!! I can only pick from the bottom 3.

I've tried everything. Quick install, custom install, running the live cd then choosing to install, etc. Always the same three kernels to choose from. The image I'm using is pfSense-2.0-RELEASE-i386.iso.gz - I've tried versions from three different mirrors to be sure. Tried the amd64 version thinking they maybe accidentally got mislabeled. As I said before 1.2.3 installed and ran flawlessly. Has uniproc support been deprecated? how do I fix this??


I eventually gave up and just picked the SMP kernel, and it seems to be running fine. What impact will this have on performance/stability as the machine is not actually capable of SMP?

ANY help is appreciated!!
« Last Edit: October 15, 2011, 09:05:58 am by fohdeesha »

Offline dreamslacker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 808
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2011, 09:53:50 am »
You can use the SMP kernel on a single core computer.  There isn't supposed to be a difference in performance and sometimes, it's the only working option (with the older 1.2.X releases, the Uniproc kernel option was broken on some setups, notably the D201GLY2).

Offline fohdeesha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2011, 06:32:47 pm »
Thanks for the reply! So I should be good to go? It seems to be running fine. Any thoughts as to why the option isn't even showing up?

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1074
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2011, 06:55:54 pm »
Quote
not my picture, I WISH I had that option

Assuming your using Windows...  May work with others too but I havent tried.

Press the "Print Screen" button at the top of your keyboard, open "Paint" and go to edit/paste...  Edit the picture then save as a jpeg.
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.

Offline fohdeesha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2011, 07:03:31 pm »
Lol, how does one printscreen in windows and then paste into a windows application when you're running a freebsd distro installer from ram with no Windows in sight? I was going to just take a picture with my phone but forgot, to get back to that screen I'd have to wipe the current installation

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1074
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2011, 07:17:03 pm »
Quote
Assuming your using Windows...

Well assuming as I was...   Oh well...   Ass of u and me I guess.


Is BSD capable of graphics programs? And anyone compiling a paint type program for BSD?? Ive wanted to play with a BSD workstation sooner or later. So far its been later.    :)

Good luck!
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.

Offline fohdeesha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2011, 07:22:47 pm »
Ah gotcha. Yeah, no VM here, just a straight to disk install on an older Athlon system. Seems to be running great so far! Finally able to move my access point onto pfsense itself. I guess I'm just super curious as to why it wouldn't let me choose a uniprocessor kernel, and the implications of using an SMP kernel on a single core system.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2011, 02:47:06 pm »
Lol, how does one printscreen in windows and then paste into a windows application when you're running a freebsd distro installer from ram with no Windows in sight? I was going to just take a picture with my phone but forgot, to get back to that screen I'd have to wipe the current installation

You connect to the system's IPMI/DRAC board and control the console from a windows machine. :-)

As others have stated, there is no longer a uniprocessor choice because it's not necessary. Years ago it was, over time things have matured to the point where it offered no benefit. For nearly a year, the 2.0 "uniprocessor" kernels had SMP in them so they were really multiprocessor kernels. Nobody noticed, so we took the uniprocessor choice away :-)
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline fohdeesha

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Installing 2.0 release, no uniprocessor option! HELP!!
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2011, 06:24:39 pm »
Thank you so much for the clear and informative answer :) I dunno what I'd do without pfSense!