The pfSense Store

Author Topic: pfBlocker  (Read 182477 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online RonpfS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #105 on: November 11, 2011, 12:01:11 am »
Still showing 0

I picked one host in the Diagnostics: Tables pfblocker table.
I can ping from LAN or pfsense no problem
Nothing is showed as blocked in the firewall logs !??

rules are on WAN only

Code: [Select]
Reject and log * * * pfBlockerWAN * * none   pfBlockerWAN Outbound 
Block and log * pfBlockerWAN * * * * none   pfBlockerWAN Inbound 

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9930
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #106 on: November 11, 2011, 12:04:36 am »
If you are testing from lan, the blocking rule must be on lan.

It's a statefull firewall. All rules are set where communication begins.

Online RonpfS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #107 on: November 11, 2011, 12:17:15 am »
So I should have

on the LAN 
Reject and log *    *    *    pfBlockerWAN    *    *    none         pfBlockerWAN LAN - Outbound 
on the
WAN Block and log *    pfBlockerWAN    *    *    *    *    none         pfBlockerWAN WAN - Inbound 

I see the widget Packet number changes ;o)

How do you block the pfsense box from accessing these aliases?


Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9930
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #108 on: November 11, 2011, 12:22:09 am »
On floating rules, but it may not show in widget.

Floating rules are not impelmented in this version but you can apply pfBlocker alias on it.

Online RonpfS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #109 on: November 11, 2011, 12:36:03 am »
I just created a rule on the Floating tab.... and the Packets blocked are updated in the widget  ;D

However the rule

Reject and log *    *    *    pfBlockerWAN    *    *    none         pfBlockerWAN Floating Outbound

disappeared in the Floating tab after a save in pfBlocker .....!!!

same thing with

pfBlockerWAN Floating
pf BlockerWAN Whatever

bummer  :(
« Last Edit: November 11, 2011, 12:53:02 am by RonpfS »

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9930
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #110 on: November 11, 2011, 05:09:56 am »
As I told you, floating rules are not implemented but i'll try the same test here and see what happens.

Offline ghm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #111 on: November 11, 2011, 08:07:09 am »
Hi,

ok, reinstalled on nanobsd and boot is much better. Got a new problem though: While the genaral and top spammers pages look good, I get the below instead of country lists for the others. Example below. Country.txt seems to load at install though, have also reinstalled package and rebooted - no change. Hence the drop down lists are missing.

Thanks!

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9930
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #112 on: November 11, 2011, 09:10:25 am »
The countryipblocks.net removed the lists  :-[
I will point it to files.pfsense.

EDIT

Just did it.

wait 15 minutes and reinstall package.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2011, 09:24:45 am by marcelloc »

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14934
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #113 on: November 11, 2011, 09:42:04 am »
Probably should not have users directly pull those lists anyhow, but keep them local and update them periodically. I have a feeling that too many people accessing their systems automatically may have been part of their decision to shut the service down.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9930
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #114 on: November 11, 2011, 09:49:31 am »
Yeah, I'm doing it now.

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9930
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #115 on: November 11, 2011, 12:17:56 pm »
Just released version 0.1.4.6 with fixes in float rules check and about section in gui.

« Last Edit: November 11, 2011, 12:28:00 pm by marcelloc »

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1066
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #116 on: November 11, 2011, 12:24:10 pm »

From Countryblocks site...

Quote
We have temporarily suspended certain services as our donation stream has suffered a significant decrease here in the fourth quarter. We are pursuing some other financing options to help us focus on providing you with our services. This temporary suspension may last a few hours or a few days. If you would like to help us expedite the process please consider making a donation to Country IP Blocks through the PayPal link (on their site)
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.

Offline tommyboy180

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 976
    • View Profile
    • TomSchaefer.org
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #117 on: November 11, 2011, 12:36:24 pm »
If you can, please donate to Country IP Blocks

Site: http://www.countryipblocks.net/

We need to support this site.
-Tom Schaefer
SuperMicro 1U 2X Intel pro/1000 Dual Core Intel 2.2 Ghz - 2 Gig RAM
TomSchaefer.org/pfsense
Please support Countryblock | IP-Blocklist | File Browser | Strikeback Here

Online RonpfS

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #118 on: November 11, 2011, 01:23:59 pm »
Just released version 0.1.4.6 with fixes in float rules check and about section in gui.



Reinstalled, Floating rules are still there after a pfBlocker save, great  ::)
Counter updates when pinging from pfsense box.
Counter is reseted on firewall rule changes.

When I select loopback interface, where does it put the rules?

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9930
    • View Profile
Re: pfBlocker
« Reply #119 on: November 11, 2011, 01:26:53 pm »
When I select loopback interface, where does it put the rules?

Nothing  :)

As we only use pfsense's framework components, interface selection includes loopback.

If you select just loopback, pfBlocker send you a warning.