The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Watchguard XTM 5 Series  (Read 124689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline menacingm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #45 on: September 15, 2013, 06:43:15 pm »
Any one have any luck locating or compiling a suitable driver for the
Cavium card? I believe a Linux one exists but no luck with BSD.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11869
  • Karma: +458/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #46 on: September 15, 2013, 06:51:08 pm »
I believe it's closed source driver in Linux or at least you have to sign an NDA before they'll give you access to the SDK. No driver like that would ever make it into FreeBSD so it would have to be reverse engineered. Not an easy task.

Steve

Offline menacingm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #47 on: September 15, 2013, 08:06:32 pm »
Yeah that pretty much sums that up.

Anyone wanna buy a Cavium VPN card cheap?  ;D

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11869
  • Karma: +458/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #48 on: September 15, 2013, 08:15:38 pm »
You never know support for the low end cavium chips may yet appear once they are of no resale value.
It's a shame they chose to use a reversed pci-e connector, I've tried to find a female to female adapter bug failed. Having the pci-e bus terminated in an edge connector like that seems to be known as 'golden fingers'. Can turn up some interesting Google results!  :P

Steve 

Offline menacingm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #49 on: September 15, 2013, 08:26:51 pm »
I'd say chances are pretty slim considering Cavium has already released several models newer than the one in this box (Nitrox CN1605). Still, you never know.

"Golden Fingers" you say?

http://youtu.be/sr0gNJ090JA

Could always use a PCI-e to mini-pci card or wifi card. Or a 10GB Ethernet card and mod the box to have a cable permanently attached internally and fed out the back. Not the most elegant solution but would make use of the port. Seems like there is enough room left to do something with it.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11869
  • Karma: +458/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #50 on: September 16, 2013, 02:50:41 am »
That's just it, you can't use any of those things without some sort of adapter because the slot is on the card! I had thought a back plane style riser of the sort sued for single board computers might do it but I haven't found one of those either.

Steve

Edit: Like this maybe: http://www.onestopsystems.com/backplane_427.php
« Last Edit: September 16, 2013, 02:53:41 am by stephenw10 »

Offline ScottMcNaught

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #51 on: October 28, 2013, 06:17:01 am »
Hello,

We have successfully installed pfsense on a watchguard xtm 505. 

Just letting you know that the Quad Core Q8200S is supported by this motherboard and runs beautifully.
This CPU actually runs cooler than the Celeron - sits between 37-40C.  The "S" model is of smaller lithography and runs more efficiently / cooler.
http://ark.intel.com/products/40816/Intel-Core2-Quad-Processor-Q8200S-4M-Cache-2_33-GHz-1333-MHz-FSB

Our specs are:
2GB RAM
Quad Core Q8200S
8GB Transcend CF Card (with 4GB image)

Works great!

Thanks to everyone who contributed.

Scott
http://www.synergy8.com/

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11869
  • Karma: +458/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #52 on: October 28, 2013, 08:29:07 am »
Ooo, nice!
The only reason I went for the E4500 (other than it was cheap on ebay) was that it matched the lithography and bus speed on the Celeron closely. If we can use 45nm and 1333MHz that opens up many other cpus.

Are you using the original BIOS?

Steve

Offline ScottMcNaught

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #53 on: October 28, 2013, 09:10:29 am »
Hi Steve,

Yes - original BIOS.  No changes or flashing needed.

I'm sure other faster CPUs will work.  But! Id be wary of the power consumption with other CPUs.  That PSU in the box is pretty small!
I would be pretty confident in saying that most of the CPUs in the "Compatible products" list of: http://ark.intel.com/products/36528/82G41-Graphics-and-Memory-Controller-Hub would work.

But I can certainly confirm the stability and operation of the Q8200S.   Power wise, we removed the VPN card and do not have a hard drive installed.
Here is a pic of the dashboard (some info removed).

Cheers,
Scott
http://www.synergy8.com/

Offline menacingm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #54 on: October 30, 2013, 10:33:32 am »
Regarding the LCDProc dev package not automatically starting at boot I'm trying StephenW's method for restarting the services with SHELLCMDs from here:

http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,7920.msg344513.html#msg344513

Offline Hawk78

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #55 on: November 10, 2013, 03:13:57 am »
Is the XTM 5 series powerful enough to run squid and anti virus package? does it work with the CF card or do i need an appliance with HDD Installation (e.g. Symantec 5420)?

Offline menacingm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #56 on: November 10, 2013, 07:26:44 am »
Yes & yes. I'm running off CF now and I have read of people installing an HD, but I'm not sure about using it to boot.

Also, this unit is upgradeable. You can upgrade the proc to a C2D and RAM as well.

All in all, a great box (with intel NICs) if you can get a good deal on one.

Offline Hawk78

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #57 on: November 10, 2013, 09:04:07 am »
The Xtm 510 has usually a Celeron 2Ghz CPU and 1Gb. Shouldn't this be enough power to run it with antivirus, proxy and content filter?

Does it make sense to use 8gb CF card or higher for installation or should 4 GB be enough?

Cu Hawk78

Offline menacingm

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #58 on: November 10, 2013, 09:11:31 am »
It certainly is for a small to medium network but every scenario is different, if you turn on all the bells & whistles, your mileage may vary.

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11869
  • Karma: +458/-15
    • View Profile
Re: Watchguard XTM 5 Series
« Reply #59 on: November 10, 2013, 10:03:43 am »
Exactly. It depends what throughput you need. If you're running Squid, Havp and Squidguard/Dansguardian you're not going to see 1Gbps. Chances are you don't need that though.
There is no value in using an 8GB CF card. The largest image available is 4GB so the remaining space can never be used.
If you want to use Squid as caching proxy you must run it from hd. The continuous writes would kill flash media in short order, the package will prevent you doing it in Nanobsd.

Steve