pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: timeouts  (Read 1986 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gintaras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
timeouts
« on: April 10, 2007, 12:28:37 pm »
Hello everybody,
My pfsense computer is up and running for a couple of days now and it works pretty fine... until
alot of timeouts smth like this:
fxp1: DNA timeout
fxp1: SMA timeout
device timeout

and so on it just keeps scrolling through the pfsense display.

fxp1 is the name of my LAN interface and when it starts no more internet for me.

I use the ctrl-c plus option 5 and reboot the pfsense computer that everything is ok

Any ideas?

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5111
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: timeouts
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2007, 01:27:13 pm »
Check the BIOS.  Ensure that no IRQ sharing is happening.

Update the BIOS to the latest and greatest version.

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: timeouts
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2007, 08:31:28 pm »
and make sure plug and play OS is disabled in your BIOS.

Offline Gintaras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: timeouts
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2007, 11:50:08 am »
it's kind of an old computer from compaq and the bios is very uncustomizable.

What's an IRQ?

BTW it happenned again, here's a pic
http://img47.imageshack.us/img47/1262/dsc00003lb6.jpg
« Last Edit: April 11, 2007, 11:52:04 am by Gintaras »

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: timeouts
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2007, 04:34:10 pm »
it's kind of an old computer from compaq and the bios is very uncustomizable.

I've seen a good deal of old Compaq hardware and don't recall any that didn't have plug and play OS settings, or possibly an OS setting. There should definitely be a BIOS update available, check Compaq's support site.

What's an IRQ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interrupt_request

While devices should be able to share IRQ's without issues, it doesn't always work that way. If you change what PCI slots the NIC's are in it might change the IRQ situation.

A full system log from after the system restarts might be helpful.

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: timeouts
« Reply #5 on: April 12, 2007, 03:09:45 pm »
Have a look at http://<yourpfsenseip>/status.php . There is a dmesg outbut at the bottom of the page that will list your hardwareconfig. You should be able to see if something is sharing IRQs there.

Offline Gintaras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: timeouts
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2007, 08:57:56 am »
Ok i noticed that if i dont wach the traffic graph all the time the timeout doesn't occur. Been like this for 2 days and 6,5 hours now.

BTW, here the DMESG:
(Any ideas?)
Copyright (c) 1992-2006 The FreeBSD Project.
Copyright (c) 1979, 1980, 1983, 1986, 1988, 1989, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994
   The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
FreeBSD 6.1-RELEASE-p10 #0: Sun Oct 29 01:06:20 UTC 2006
    sullrich@builder.livebsd.com:/usr/obj.pfSense/usr/src/sys/pfSense.6
Timecounter "i8254" frequency 1193182 Hz quality 0
CPU: Pentium II/Pentium II Xeon/Celeron (348.21-MHz 686-class CPU)
  Origin = "GenuineIntel"  Id = 0x652  Stepping = 2
  Features=0x183f9ff<FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,MMX,FXSR>
real memory  = 134217728 (128 MB)
avail memory = 121589760 (115 MB)
wlan: mac acl policy registered
kbd1 at kbdmux0
ath_hal: 0.9.16.16 (AR5210, AR5211, AR5212, RF5111, RF5112, RF2413, RF5413)
cpu0 on motherboard
pcib0: <Intel 82443BX (440 BX) host to PCI bridge> pcibus 0 on motherboard
pir0: <PCI Interrupt Routing Table: 5 Entries> on motherboard
pci0: <PCI bus> on pcib0
agp0: <Intel 82443BX (440 BX) host to PCI bridge> mem 0x44000000-0x47ffffff at device 0.0 on pci0
pcib1: <PCI-PCI bridge> at device 1.0 on pci0
pci1: <PCI bus> on pcib1
pci1: <display, VGA> at device 0.0 (no driver attached)
fxp0: <Intel 82558 Pro/100 Ethernet> port 0x2000-0x201f mem 0x40300000-0x40300fff,0x40100000-0x401fffff irq 11 at device 10.0 on pci0
miibus0: <MII bus> on fxp0
inphy0: <i82555 10/100 media interface> on miibus0
inphy0:  10baseT, 10baseT-FDX, 100baseTX, 100baseTX-FDX, auto
fxp0: Ethernet address: 00:08:c7:8f:e5:c5
fxp1: <Intel 82558 Pro/100 Ethernet> port 0x2020-0x203f mem 0x40400000-0x40400fff,0x40200000-0x402fffff irq 11 at device 14.0 on pci0
miibus1: <MII bus> on fxp1
inphy1: <i82555 10/100 media interface> on miibus1
inphy1:  10baseT, 10baseT-FDX, 100baseTX, 100baseTX-FDX, auto
fxp1: Ethernet address: 00:04:ac:58:a4:5e
isab0: <PCI-ISA bridge> at device 20.0 on pci0
isa0: <ISA bus> on isab0
atapci0: <Intel PIIX4 UDMA33 controller> port 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6,0x170-0x177,0x376,0x2060-0x206f at device 20.1 on pci0
ata0: <ATA channel 0> on atapci0
ata1: <ATA channel 1> on atapci0
uhci0: <Intel 82371AB/EB (PIIX4) USB controller> port 0x2040-0x205f irq 11 at device 20.2 on pci0
uhci0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
usb0: <Intel 82371AB/EB (PIIX4) USB controller> on uhci0
usb0: USB revision 1.0
uhub0: Intel UHCI root hub, class 9/0, rev 1.00/1.00, addr 1
uhub0: 2 ports with 2 removable, self powered
piix0: <PIIX Timecounter> port 0xfc00-0xfc0f at device 20.3 on pci0
Timecounter "PIIX" frequency 3579545 Hz quality 0
pmtimer0 on isa0
orm0: <ISA Option ROMs> at iomem 0xc0000-0xc7fff,0xc8000-0xc87ff,0xe0000-0xe7fff on isa0
atkbdc0: <Keyboard controller (i8042)> at port 0x60,0x64 on isa0
atkbd0: <AT Keyboard> irq 1 on atkbdc0
kbd0 at atkbd0
atkbd0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
psm0: <PS/2 Mouse> flags 0x1000 irq 12 on atkbdc0
psm0: [GIANT-LOCKED]
psm0: model IntelliMouse, device ID 3
fdc0: <Enhanced floppy controller> at port 0x3f0-0x3f5,0x3f7 irq 6 drq 2 on isa0
fdc0: [FAST]
fd0: <1440-KB 3.5" drive> on fdc0 drive 0
ppc0: <Parallel port> at port 0x378-0x37f irq 7 on isa0
ppc0: SMC-like chipset (ECP/EPP/PS2/NIBBLE) in COMPATIBLE mode
ppc0: FIFO with 16/16/8 bytes threshold
ppbus0: <Parallel port bus> on ppc0
lpt0: <Printer> on ppbus0
lpt0: Interrupt-driven port
ppi0: <Parallel I/O> on ppbus0
sc0: <System console> at flags 0x100 on isa0
sc0: VGA <16 virtual consoles, flags=0x300>
sio0 at port 0x3f8-0x3ff irq 4 flags 0x10 on isa0
sio0: type 16550A
sio1 at port 0x2f8-0x2ff irq 3 on isa0
sio1: type 16550A
vga0: <Generic ISA VGA> at port 0x3c0-0x3df iomem 0xa0000-0xbffff on isa0
unknown: <PNP0401> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0501> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0501> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0700> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0c01> can't assign resources (memory)
speaker0: <PC speaker> at port 0x61 on isa0
unknown: <PNP0303> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0f13> can't assign resources (irq)
unknown: <PNP0c02> can't assign resources (port)
Timecounter "TSC" frequency 348205166 Hz quality 800
Timecounters tick every 1.000 msec
Fast IPsec: Initialized Security Association Processing.
ad0: 6149MB <WDC AC26400B 32.02S33> at ata0-master UDMA33
Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/ad0s1a

     ___
 ___/ f \\
/ p \\___/ Sense
\\___/   \\
    \\___/


Welcome to pfSense 1.0.1 on the 'pfSense' platform...

Mounting filesystems...
 done.
Creating symlinks...
.
.
.
done.
Launching PHP init system...
 done.
Initializing...
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
 done.
Starting device manager (devd)...
done.
Loading configuration...
.
.
.
done.
Updating configuration...
done.
Cleaning backup cache...
done.
Setting up extended sysctls...
done.
Syncing user passwords...
done.
Starting Secure Shell Services...
done.
Setting timezone...
done.
Starting syslog...
done.
Configuring LAN interface...
fxp0: link state changed to UP
fxp1: link state changed to UP
done.
Configuring WAN interface...
done.
Configuring OPT interfaces...
done.
Configuring CARP interfaces...
done.
Configuring firewall...
.
pflog0: promiscuous mode enabled
.
.
.
.
.
done.
Starting webConfigurator...
done.
Starting DNS forwarder...
done.
Starting DHCP service...
done.
Setting up microcode and tx/rx offloading...
done.
Starting FTP helpers...
done.
Starting DHCP service...
done.
Starting OpenNTP time client...
done.
Starting CRON...
done.
Syncing packages...
Executing rc.d items...
 Stopping /usr/local/etc/rc.d/*.sh...
done.
 Starting /usr/local/etc/rc.d/*.sh...
done.
Bootup complete
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 to 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 to 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1

Offline hoba

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5837
  • What was the problem to this solution again?
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: timeouts
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2007, 01:31:55 pm »
fxp0: <Intel 82558 Pro/100 Ethernet> port 0x2000-0x201f mem 0x40300000-0x40300fff,0x40100000-0x401fffff irq 11 at device 10.0 on pci0
...
fxp1: <Intel 82558 Pro/100 Ethernet> port 0x2020-0x203f mem 0x40400000-0x40400fff,0x40200000-0x402fffff irq 11 at device 14.0 on pci0
...
uhci0: <Intel 82371AB/EB (PIIX4) USB controller> port 0x2040-0x205f irq 11 at device 20.2 on pci0
...
unknown: <PNP0401> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0501> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0501> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0700> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0c01> can't assign resources (memory)
...
unknown: <PNP0303> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0f13> can't assign resources (irq)
unknown: <PNP0c02> can't assign resources (port)
...
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 to 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 to 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1

Several Problems here:
- All nics and the usb controller share the same IRQ. Disable USB, you don't need it. You also can disable the parallelport and maybe some other components to get some free ressources. Also moving the nics around to different pci slots might help get rid of the interruptsharing.

- it looks like you have pnp enabled in your bios. You should turn it off so the bios assigns ressources to your devices.

- there are some hosts at your fxp1 subnet that have the same IP. This could be some teamed nics. If that is not the case you should find the conflict and resolve it.

Offline Gintaras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: timeouts
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2007, 02:16:41 pm »
fxp0: <Intel 82558 Pro/100 Ethernet> port 0x2000-0x201f mem 0x40300000-0x40300fff,0x40100000-0x401fffff irq 11 at device 10.0 on pci0
...
fxp1: <Intel 82558 Pro/100 Ethernet> port 0x2020-0x203f mem 0x40400000-0x40400fff,0x40200000-0x402fffff irq 11 at device 14.0 on pci0
...
uhci0: <Intel 82371AB/EB (PIIX4) USB controller> port 0x2040-0x205f irq 11 at device 20.2 on pci0
...
unknown: <PNP0401> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0501> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0501> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0700> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0c01> can't assign resources (memory)
...
unknown: <PNP0303> can't assign resources (port)
unknown: <PNP0f13> can't assign resources (irq)
unknown: <PNP0c02> can't assign resources (port)
...
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 to 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 to 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 on fxp1
arp: 192.168.1.6 moved from 00:14:c2:d7:20:25 to 00:13:8f:14:f4:11 on fxp1

Several Problems here:
- All nics and the usb controller share the same IRQ. Disable USB, you don't need it. You also can disable the parallelport and maybe some other components to get some free ressources. Also moving the nics around to different pci slots might help get rid of the interruptsharing.

- it looks like you have pnp enabled in your bios. You should turn it off so the bios assigns ressources to your devices.

- there are some hosts at your fxp1 subnet that have the same IP. This could be some teamed nics. If that is not the case you should find the conflict and resolve it.

OK, thanks for your advice, will do that the at the weekend maybe sooner.

About the NIC's. One of my Nic is integrated, so i doubt i could move it around and the other one is on a vertical add-on card which plugs into an old type of pci.

BTW, offtopic. Maybe you could give me some hints about last.fm It prety much doesn't work :) ?

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6283
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: timeouts
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2007, 02:33:51 pm »
- there are some hosts at your fxp1 subnet that have the same IP. This could be some teamed nics. If that is not the case you should find the conflict and resolve it.

I doubt if those are teamed NIC's in this case - usually that'll be two NIC's from the same vendor. These are two different vendors:
00:13:8f - Asiarock Incorporation
00:14:c2 - HP

Gintaras: I would look into this and see why you're seeing that IP switching between MAC's.