Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: Battlefield 3 with multiple pcs on a Lan  (Read 13584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sikh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Battlefield 3 with multiple pcs on a Lan
« on: December 18, 2011, 05:15:54 pm »
So one computer works great. If I try 2, first one connects and second one gets stuck at connecting. Now my xboxs have been working flawlessly since 2.0 beta on upnp. Turn 1 on connects then turn on 2 and it connects. Both open nat.

Now with the pcs that's not the case. Since there is no way to change the client port the game asks for (fixed my problem on bc2) I can't change the ports myself. But the game is built to ask for another port but my upnp won't.

Sometimes the 2nd computer can connect to different servers but will not connect to the same server as the first one.

Any ideas guys?

Offline dguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3 with multiple pcs on a Lan
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 01:16:10 pm »
are you using NAT/Port Forward for these LAN PC's or a LAN rule?

Offline marvosa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3 with multiple pcs on a Lan
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2012, 02:07:19 pm »
Well, this is from ea.com regarding BF3:

If you are playing on PC, please enable the following online ports on your connection:
TCP: 80, 443, 9988, 20000-20100, 22990, 17502, 42127
UDP: 3659, 14000-14016, 22990-23006, 25200-25300

But these are all outgoing, so in theory, with uPNP enabled there shouldn't be any issues with multiple PC's playing on a LAN (unless there's a bug I don't know about)

I found this on a gaming site:

eg) Edit each computers BF3 executable to include the " -port XXXXX" (as long as each PC uses a different port)

Computer A = "C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 3\bf3.exe -port 10000"
Computer B = "C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 3\bf3.exe -port 10001"
Computer C = "C:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Battlefield 3\bf3.exe" -port 10002"

Although, this was a solution for playing BF3 with multiple PC's on a LAN... WITHOUT...uPnP... it may be a workaround if you are positive you have UPnP enabled on PFsense.

I would do the following:

1.  disable software firewalls on local pc's
2.  In PFsense, double check that UPnP is ENABLED on the LAN interface (services -> UPnP & NAT-PMP).  If you upgraded from an earlier version, try toggling UPnP off and on... I've seen that work for other services.
3.  make sure the UPnP service is running on your PC's (open the services snap-in (services.msc) then look for "UPnP Device Host")

Offline jaredadams

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3 with multiple pcs on a Lan
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2012, 12:17:56 pm »
I host a small LAN every once in awhile.  We have had absolutely 0 problems playing BF3 or BC2 behind my pfsense firewall.  Everyone is trying to find out why they are having problems, but I dont really know why I'm NOT.

FYI, uPnP is disabled in my config.  I have no special rules for BF3 traffic.  I'm letting NAT do its thing on its own as its designed to do.

Offline M.I.Bovrd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • M.I.Bovrd
    • View Profile
    • CQRITEŽ
Re: Battlefield 3 with multiple pcs on a Lan
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2012, 12:08:16 am »
pfSense 2.0.1 and Gaming.

Have a look at this tutorial set-up for multiple gaming consoles with UPnP and AOS, for Motels and the like, no port forwarding. It could use some tightening fine tuning, but seems to work fine for most.

http://www.cqrite.com/?p=155
Tweet: MIBovrd@cqrite http://www.cqrite.com

Offline shaqan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3 with multiple pcs on a Lan
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2012, 10:21:09 pm »
BF:Bad Company 2 does not like upnp at all.. Constant connectivity issues are direct result of upnp.

BF3 is also using Frostbite engine. Likely to be same issue.

Offline danic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3 with multiple pcs on a Lan
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2012, 11:33:11 pm »
I had LANParty few months ago, and we played BF3. Only thing I needed to do was setup static port on outgoing nat. I have uPNP disabled (Not multi-wan friendly).