The pfSense Store

Author Topic: pfsense 2.0.1 amd64 and open-vm-tools -> kernel mode crash  (Read 2853 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gerdesj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
pfsense 2.0.1 amd64 and open-vm-tools -> kernel mode crash
« on: December 30, 2011, 04:55:31 am »
Yesterday I updated our production pfSense running on vSphere 5 from 2.0.0 to 2.0.1 amd64.  All seemed OK but it started crashing regularly - around every 10 mins to 1 hour or so.  

I removed open vm tools and it has remained up for the last 11 hours so far [edit: no it hadn't - I misread something], so I think I have the rough solution but not the real cause [no I don't!].

When I get some time, I'll try some experiments on a test VM to see if it is a fundamental problem or due to some other feature I am using eg OpenVPN/IPSEC etc.

Unfortunately I don't have any details of the crash itself - HA restarted the VM automatically.  However I have got syslog to another box to pore over at some point.

The other changes I made at the time of the upgrade was to change the WAN interface into a PPPoE link through an ADSL modem from a routed one behind an ADSL router and remove ntop.

I have reverted back to the clone I made before the upgrade, which has remained nice and stable.  Experiment time in the new year ...
« Last Edit: December 30, 2011, 02:06:58 pm by gerdesj »

Offline gerdesj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0.1 amd64 and open-vm-tools -> kernel mode crash
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2012, 04:11:17 am »
VMware keeps screenshots for crashed machines.  Not much to go on - Fatal Trap 12

Offline misteritguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0.1 amd64 and open-vm-tools -> kernel mode crash
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2012, 02:13:51 pm »
Bump,
Same problem.

Same version and tools suite. From what I can see, CPU spikes, tools crashes, and traffic stops flowing. Requires a reboot of firewall.

My usage is a bit heavy, with IPSec S2S vpn, and normal NAT traffic. Over a Gigabit trunk...
Machine is configured with 4 cores, and 4Gbs of ram.

Offline stemond

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0.1 amd64 and open-vm-tools -> kernel mode crash
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2012, 02:13:09 pm »
Gerdesj, Have you installed CD-ROM in virtual machine ?

In 2.0 RC3 i removed CD-ROM and my virtual machines stop to crash.

Tell me if you have resolved..

Stefano

Offline misteritguy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0.1 amd64 and open-vm-tools -> kernel mode crash
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2012, 02:24:02 pm »
Its not the open-vm-tools, I installed the vendor tools as well and used all three nics to verify the traffic and drivers. E1000, VMXnet/3. The machine has crashed daily. The last week it was an upgraded platform from 2.0 to 2.0.1, and then I just did a clean re-install of 2.0.1. No go.

It's the 2.0.1 release. I reverted back to 2.0, and have not crashed for 3 days.

I'd like to contribute logs to this bugfix, anyone know how?

 

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14932
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0.1 amd64 and open-vm-tools -> kernel mode crash
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2012, 07:38:04 am »
We have a ton of people running 2.0.1 in ESX in production even with tools without issues.

Also 2.0.1 wouldn't have left you at a "db>" prompt like in that screenshot. I have to wonder if it actually upgraded or if there is some other issue going on there.

There are no major differences in the binaries between 2.0 and 2.0.1, the underlying OS version did not change.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline gerdesj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: pfsense 2.0.1 amd64 and open-vm-tools -> kernel mode crash
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2012, 06:20:54 am »
We have a ton of people running 2.0.1 in ESX in production even with tools without issues.

Also 2.0.1 wouldn't have left you at a "db>" prompt like in that screenshot. I have to wonder if it actually upgraded or if there is some other issue going on there.

There are no major differences in the binaries between 2.0 and 2.0.1, the underlying OS version did not change.

Thanks for the response and sorry for my late reply. 

I will soon try another upgrade.  This time I might build a new one from 2.0.1 source and put the config into it.

Cheers
Jon