pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes  (Read 18758 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cady

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« on: April 25, 2007, 04:11:01 pm »
hi all,

anybody know pfsense freeRadius Attributes to control download speed and upload speed.
i've try the mikrotik Rate-Limit and Recv-Limit..but seems not working...
please help

thank you

Offline aldo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 202
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2007, 02:27:53 pm »
this is not possible at the moment if dummy net is sorted in 6.2 or later freebsd then it will be possible.
pfsense uses altq for traffic shaping and the pfsense pppoe server uses mpd which has workings with ipf shaper but not altq

Offline LeoLinux

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2007, 05:41:18 pm »
What do you mean with "sorted" ... ? Is it a FreeBSD problem?

I'm just asking what software instead of dummynet would I need to do that? Would it be possible with OpenBSD?


Thank you!

Leander

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2007, 06:21:24 pm »
What do you mean with "sorted" ... ? Is it a FreeBSD problem?

Yes, this is a PFIL ordering issue.

I'm just asking what software instead of dummynet would I need to do that? Would it be possible with OpenBSD?

No, OpenBSD does not have dummynet.

Offline LeoLinux

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2007, 06:44:34 pm »
Thx for zour quick response ;-)

So how or better said with what software combination would I be able to realise a bandwidth limitation for PPPoE Users?? And what OS would zou take?

Thank zou for zour help ;-)



Leander

Offline LeoLinux

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2007, 09:39:01 am »
has nobody done that before? I know now that it's not possible with pfsense, but with what is it possible then?


Thanks


  Leander

Offline warsome

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2007, 09:48:29 pm »
hi all,

anybody know pfsense freeRadius Attributes to control download speed and upload speed.

I use Freeradius with Dileupadmin to manage my Wireless ISP.


512/128
      VNC-PPPoE-CBQ-RX = 512000     
      VNC-PPPoE-CBQ-TX = 128000

the Attributes will limit the persons connection speeds.

***now im here looking for a way to "shape" someone after a data limit of say 1GB :P but thought i would help out on my first post :)

Offline LeoLinux

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2007, 12:48:28 pm »
Hi,

thx for your helpful response ;-) but you have to edit your freeradius conf per hand each time you want to limit somebodys bandwidth, don't you, or is there an option in DailupAdmin?

Regards,

  Leander

Offline pk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2008, 10:12:54 pm »
I'm in the process of doing some software to manage RADIUS users.  We use it on our WISP currently.

Part of this software will be a script that runs each night.  it calculates the bandwidth being used by each person.  If it's over a CAP, then I reduce their speeds until they pay again.  We run a pre-paid wireless type network.  You pay for bandwidth, and when you run out, you get modem speed (so you can pay again).

We are switching from Captive Portal to PPPoE currently.  I'm sad to see that this isn't possible with PPPoE.  Out of the 150 users we have, there are 5 or 6 that use 90% of the bandwidth while the rest are stuck being shaped down to nothing.

Hopefully when I push this software out, the PPPoE will support this feature.  Otherwise anyone using this software will have to use Captive Portal (and CP sucks).

Offline ermal

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3357
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2008, 04:51:01 am »
Sponsor it. It can be added but its not on priority list.

Offline pk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: PPPoE freeRadius Attributes
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2009, 06:07:35 pm »
Sponsor it. It can be added but its not on priority list.

That's a great idea.  I'll definitely put a bounty on it when I'm ready to go.