The pfSense Store

Author Topic: system blocks after first login  (Read 1268 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Papcina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
system blocks after first login
« on: February 12, 2012, 03:14:33 am »
hi

i've got a dedicated pc for firewall and routing.. based on pentium 2 -300mhz, 768mb sdram, 3x 3com etherlink III ISA cards, 1x PCI 56k modem and a VGA card... and a 4gb hdd...
so, i install it to hdd, setup the network and the system is up... next, i try to connect to 192.168.1.1, i get to the user and pass screen, go next and then i see the system info page but it hangs... and from there, everything stops... cant ping, login... nothing... even the computers cant get the IP adress from DHCP...
what could be the problem? i'll try to change the network cards, but that setup worked in 1.2.3 version...

any ideas?

thx

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2012, 04:36:12 am »
i've got a dedicated pc for firewall and routing.. based on pentium 2 -300mhz, 768mb sdram, 3x 3com etherlink III ISA cards, 1x PCI 56k modem and a VGA card... and a 4gb hdd...
That's OLD kit - it must be well over 10 years old.  I would have suspicions about the power supply, seating of memory cards, seating of NICs, effectiveness of fans etc.

any ideas?

that setup worked in 1.2.3 version...
pfSense 2.0 has a different kernel than that used in pfSense 2.0 or 2.0.1 and that could have implications on memory layout (for example) resulting in memory areas that were previously unused now being used. ISA cards are so old I SUSPECT they might not get much testing in current versions of FreeBSD.

When the system hangs what is displayed on the console? Does the system respond to the console keyboard?  Can you successfully issue a shell command (for example top -S -H) on the console keyboard?

Offline Papcina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2012, 04:41:55 am »
can't even log in (using putty)... ill try to change to PCI cards and see then...

Offline stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8084
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2012, 07:55:37 am »
Have you run any other OS on this box with this same configuration?
It's been a long time since I played with ISA cards but I remember struggling with IRQ/resource conflicts on a regular basis.

Steve

Offline Papcina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2012, 09:51:54 am »
ipcop was running natively on this box for years, and with 2 NICs at that time... but that was years ago...

Offline stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8084
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2012, 10:18:46 am »
Perhaps try running with two nics to start with then. You can always add the other nic at any time.

Steve

Offline Papcina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2012, 12:35:31 pm »
okay, update...
fresh install of 2.0.1...
3 PCI NIC's... 2x 3com and 1x digital something... all of them 10/100mbit...
and i setup normally, now i can log in and work in pfsense webconfigurator normally...
LAN is setup... but, i cant manage to put PPoE on WAN interface! i put the username, password and apply the new settings...
and nothing! interface down! am i doing something wrong? and what!?
before on the older version, as far as i can remember, that was enough to run PPoE on WAN interface... am i missing something?

the old version run after 10mins of instalation and setup, with old ISA cards... this one wont even with newer ones  ??? :o 8)

Offline Papcina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2012, 01:20:57 pm »
update, another fresh install... (to be sure.. in any case)...
2 new PCI network cards... one 3com, and one with realtek 8139 chipset.. both working 100%
setup configuration, one for LAN one for WAN... lan works... i go to webconfigurator.. next to wan, enter username and password... apply settings.. and nothing! no connection! on the main page next to the WAN is a big red X sign... wtf? status>interfaces shows down.. when i click connect it connects for a second to 127.0.0.1 but next thing it shows status down again...
guys, any ideas what i am doing wrong?
btw, yea, the username and the pass for the ISP are 100% correct...

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2012, 02:30:08 pm »
I suggest you take a look at the system logs for PPP entries: Status -> System Logs click on PPP tab and click on System tab. If there is nothing try to reconnect (click the Reconnect button on Status -> Interfaces) and then see if the logs have any PPP entries)

Unfortunately since upgrading to pfSense 2.0.1 the PPP log on my system has been empty every time I looked even though PPPoE is running on my WAN link. Others have reported non empty PPP logs on their systems.

What is the output of the pfSense shell command ps ax | grep mpd ? (Check the PPP daemon is running.)

Are you specifying a PPP service name? (If I recall correctly some people have experienced problems with non-null service names.)

Are you importing a configuration from another (or previous version) pfSense system?

Offline Papcina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2012, 02:35:41 pm »
thx for reply, but a bit late  :-[

i switched back to 1.2.3 RC1 because im without internet for 2 days so far, and i have 7 different computers relying on my connection...
well, i was without net... when i switched back to the old, i did the normal wan pppoe setup and voila! everything works well..
internet back on and running...

i will make another similar box to play with it tomorrow so i can tell you the output of the log entries...

too bad it didnt work out well with 2.0.1... i really like it and some of the new features would help me a lot
oldie but goldie  8)

Offline stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8084
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2012, 02:39:24 pm »
Looks like you're having a nightmare!  ::)
Good to see you haven't given up though.
I'm running two PPPoE WANs here with 2.0.1. but I upgraded from 1.2.3 so I never had to set them up directly. You could try that.

Steve

Offline Papcina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2012, 03:30:12 pm »
nah.. in fact never did any upgrade to any router/fw OS... neither ipcop, monowall, smoothwal or this pfsense...
i like it clean and intact  ;D and that's how its gonna stay  8)  ;D

Offline Papcina

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: system blocks after first login
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2012, 11:37:33 am »
hmmm

seems i wont be able to test again with 2.0.1, i can't afford once more to be without net, so i will wait till the next pfsense upgrade...
if someone knows how to fix the pppoe connection on 2.0.1, you can write here..

thanks everyone
bye