pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Industrial SSD work ok?  (Read 1254 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline deresistance

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Industrial SSD work ok?
« on: February 28, 2012, 08:51:10 pm »
I know its a known issue that a lot of SSD do not work in PFsense becuase it constantly writes to the same sector over and over causing some of the cheap SSDs to fail.   I am testing this now but wanted to know options if anyone has feedback.  http://www.transcend-info.com/industry/products_details.asp?CatNo=2&SerNo=12&ModNo=21&Func1No=1   

its an industrial SSD 4gig with Global wear-leveling algorithm.    I assume it prevents an OS from writing to the same spot over an over.   Is this correct?   

Any feedback on low cost smaller drives would be great.  I know flash cards work well just looking for something faster without getting into a fully enterprise hard drive.

Thanks

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
Re: Industrial SSD work ok?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 10:03:02 pm »
I have used two Transcend 1GB DOMs (plug into motherboard IDE socket) in two pfSense boxes without any trouble for nearly four years now.

I know its a known issue that a lot of SSD do not work in PFsense becuase it constantly writes to the same sector over and over
You have an authoritative source for this knowledge? This behaviour is provoked by particular packages? It doesn't seem to happen on my systems!

Offline tester_02

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: Industrial SSD work ok?
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 11:42:49 pm »
  I've run a cheap 40gb Intel SSD for 2 years with no issues.  I've converted that same drive over to a windows machine which is now running pfsense virtual on vmware and there are still no issues.
  I'm guessing a large part is due to the size.   The larger the SSD the more spare to have as reserve, the and less chance all the memory will be written over too many times to wear it out.
  SSD drives are getting cheaper all the time.   I originally only did it as the mechanical drive was noisy, as the ssd made the machine quiet.  The windows machine was more important, as I wanted a quick windows/virtual pfsense boot time.   Virtual also gave me easier backup/restore ability.


Offline robi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 310
    • View Profile
Re: Industrial SSD work ok?
« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2012, 05:53:10 am »
I assume it prevents an OS from writing to the same spot over an over.   Is this correct?   
It doesnt prevent the OS from anything, the SSD's internal controller re-maps the physical memory address of the cells continuously in a manner that all the cells are actually being re-written all the time, even when the OS doesn't write anything to the disk. The OS actually doesn't even notice what's happening in the background, it's all done in hardware. See about static wear levelling.

Offline deresistance

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
Re: Industrial SSD work ok?
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2012, 11:30:32 am »
Sweet thanks for the feedback guys.

For testing I was using these cheap kingston SSDs and yeah they died pretty quick.  Reading online they have lots of issues anyways so I just wanted to be sure.  Transcend chips have been very reliable in the past I used the DOM IDE ones with monowall for years. 

Thanks again  :)