The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Why can't this vlan get internet?  (Read 2275 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xcrunr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Why can't this vlan get internet?
« on: March 08, 2012, 10:12:25 pm »
Hi all. I appareciate any help in advance, as I am new to pfsense and really networking in general and am now using it as a home firewall to try and learn about all of this. I was able to get one vlan internet access, but have tried like every rule to get this other vlan (calling it DMZ) to get internet, including even giving it an allow all rule and still no go. Any help is appreciated...the dns itself is getting blocked still!





Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 10:59:09 pm »
Try restarting, specialy if you have made multiple changes. Are you using advanced outbound nat?

Offline megamania

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 02:43:42 pm »
Have the same issue and even restarted dont acess internet on my vlan...

Offline xcrunr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 03:33:56 pm »
Restarting did end up fixing it for me.

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 03:50:39 pm »
Have the same issue and even restarted dont acess internet on my vlan...

Do have the VIP, rules, and NAT setup correctly? Could you give a bit more information?

Offline megamania

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 04:11:30 pm »
then tried to do but could not do the vlan vlan work with the rules and enabling dhcp on vlan, vlan has some tutorial?

« Last Edit: April 25, 2012, 04:28:56 pm by megamania »

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2012, 04:23:43 pm »
Yes ... in the book and there used to be some at docs.pfsense.org.

Offline megamania

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2012, 04:31:18 pm »


and


Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2012, 04:40:31 pm »
The rules and interface look good. What about your advanced outbound NAT?

Offline megamania

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2012, 04:46:52 pm »
I do not know how to make outbound nat can you help me?

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2012, 05:00:28 pm »
There are docs at http://doc.pfsense.org on how to get that done. Auto might work, but I always wanted to be sure with manually added outbound NAT.

Offline megamania

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2012, 05:08:32 pm »
this is how i make que outbound nat:


Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2012, 05:25:59 pm »
You are going to need a rule for each interface and virtual interface aside from VPN and WAN to make sure that everything is working.

Offline megamania

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2012, 05:42:32 pm »
i need to make more 2 rules to WAN's and 1 LAN?
equal i have to vlan?

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Why can't this vlan get internet?
« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2012, 05:47:40 pm »
The interface is all WAN ... it is the subnets that change. The subnets will match your VLANs and LAN.