The pfSense Store

Author Topic: LAN traffic to specific IPs use WAN1 not WAN2?  (Read 993 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline spartan7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
LAN traffic to specific IPs use WAN1 not WAN2?
« on: March 27, 2012, 02:35:03 pm »
I'm having issues getting all traffic going to specific ips from LAN to go through WAN2. I am on a 2wan>1lan setup.

WAN1-firewall rules
-----------------
action:block
interface:wan
protocal tcp/udp
source:any
destination:network xx.xx.xx.0/24
destination port range: Blank


WAN2-firewall rules
-----------------
action:pass
interface:wan2
protocal tcp/udp
source:any
destination:network xx.xx.xx.0/24
destination port range: Blank

I have made one of these rules for every ip I needed for WAN1 Block and WAN2 PASS

It looks like the rules are getting ignored and there is no traffic going to wan2 which I want to use specifically for voip. That is all. Do I need to do something else?


Offline KurianOfBorg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 228
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: LAN traffic to specific IPs use WAN1 not WAN2?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 02:46:58 pm »
That's not how you do it. Create a firewall rule on the LAN interface and specify the destination IP address you want to force through WAN2. Then at the bottom of the page use the advanced gateway settings to choose WAN2's gateway. This rule should have a higher priority than the LAN->* rules that go through WAN1. There's no need for any WAN rules or to block anything on the LAN rules.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2012, 02:52:46 pm by KurianOfBorg »

Offline spartan7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: LAN traffic to specific IPs use WAN1 not WAN2?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2012, 03:32:59 pm »
Thank you for clearing that for me. Everything is working great.

*I did simulate WAN2 going down and all programs and traffic using WAN2 stopped working. Do I need to create rules below the ones I created to push traffic back to WAN1 in case WAN2 goes down?

Offline clarknova

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 920
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: LAN traffic to specific IPs use WAN1 not WAN2?
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2012, 04:05:41 pm »
When you select a gateway in your LAN rule you're creating policy routing with no load balancing or failover. If you want those things you have to go to System: Gateway Groups as per the howto:

http://doc.pfsense.org/index.php/Multi-WAN_2.0#Gateway_Groups
db

Offline spartan7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: LAN traffic to specific IPs use WAN1 not WAN2?
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2012, 01:35:00 pm »
worked great. thank you very much for the help :D