Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners  (Read 1564 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rossi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« on: April 15, 2012, 05:57:39 am »
Hello community,

I am new to pfsense. I was using ipcop for a long time, also contributing some addons to it but I was missing some functions which pfsense offers... so it was time to switch! :D

First package I've tried was the havp antivirus package which looks quite nice but it is a bit smaller in function than the "copfilter" package I've used with ipcop. One thing I miss is the option to enable different virus scanners like AVG, Sophos, Avira, etc.. I was already able to get AVG working but without a real integration into the HAVP package its only good for some testing.
Now I would like to get the support into the package but I don't really know how the development here works. How can I find out whom I have to contact for the package? Is there any public contact list?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Rossi

Offline dvserg

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4785
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 07:41:21 am »
Now normally used сlamd The possibility of using other vendors not implemented.

Offline Rossi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 10:10:07 am »
Yes of course but i would like to add support for different vendors.

Offline dvserg

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4785
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2012, 12:58:10 pm »
Yes of course but i would like to add support for different vendors.
This will require a large rework of package.

Offline Rossi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2012, 11:51:16 am »
Why? The configuration changes are minimal. It took me only half an hour to get the avg scanner working. Only the gui must be changed a bit more.

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10004
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2012, 12:16:47 pm »
Why? The configuration changes are minimal. It took me only half an hour to get the avg scanner working. Only the gui must be changed a bit more.


take a look on package source and see if you can help including these options

https://github.com/bsdperimeter/pfsense-packages/tree/master/config/havp

Offline Rossi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2012, 12:26:07 pm »
OK, thats actually what I was looking for but I wasn't sure where to start. Thx!

Offline dvserg

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4785
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • My Homepage
Re: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2012, 12:53:31 pm »
Another type of antivirus has a different behavior in management. This requires a change management model. Maybe your idea will be implemented, but this requires a modular approach. I am not yet ready to begin such work, until I finish the current work.

Offline Rossi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: HAVP Antivirus with different scanners
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2012, 01:07:47 pm »
Well, a quick hack is done in a few minutes but of course I would prefer a real integration. The only problem I see is that it might need regular updates because as far as I can say the linux/netbsd scanners of the different third party av scanners look like changing a lot. Due to the licence problem it might also need the users to install it using the ssh console. Not perfect but... I wouldn't mind as long as it works once the installation is done.