The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Intermittent IPv6 Issues  (Read 2610 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Matthias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« on: April 18, 2012, 06:12:05 pm »
I've been having intermittent connectivity issues stemming from a DHCPv6 server issue lately. I am running    2.1-DEVELOPMENT (i386) built on Fri Apr 13 21:32:08 EDT 2012. I currently have the settings set to assisted. DHCPv6 seems to work sometimes but most of the time it does not. I receive two IPv6 addresses from stateless autoconfig as is normal but sometimes I lose the gateway address on the client. When this happens it happens across all my client computers. The only way I've found to fix it is to restart pfsense. Changing assignment modes on pfsense does not seem to help. This has become quite annoying as it seems to happen randomly and I only notice it when I've restarted or woken a client computer.

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 03:25:08 am »
DHCPv6 does not provide the gateway, this is done by the router advertisement daemon. Radvd.

Check if radvd is actually running. ps auxww|grep radvd

Offline Matthias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 08:16:44 am »
It appears to be running

root   47732  0.0  0.3  3328  1264  ??  Ss    6:43PM   0:01.62 /usr/local/sbin/radvd -C /var/etc/radvd.conf -m syslog

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2012, 12:44:22 pm »
ok, that's good. If it happens again, check if the process on pfSense still exists.

If it doesn't, press save on dhcpv6 server settings, that should launch it again.

Is this primarily wireless computers? Some accesspoints handle multicast badly, as in, they drop it.

Offline Matthias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2012, 02:35:50 pm »
No it happens across all computers. I don't seem to be receiving an address from the DHCPv6 server again. Only the two from stateless autoconfig. I tried clicking save on the DHCPv6 server and doing a release/renew but it doesn't seem to pick one up.
« Last Edit: April 19, 2012, 02:42:01 pm by Matthias »

Offline Matthias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2012, 05:08:08 pm »
This is still an on going issue for me. I am still not receiving an address through DCHPv6 nor am I getting the default gateway. I am, however, receiving two temporary addresses and the correct DNS server

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2012, 12:35:34 am »
Do you happen to have personal firewalls installed or corporate virus scanners on those computers?

Symantec Endpoint Protection with the default rules blocks IPv6 traffic entirely. There is another one that does this too.

Otherwise I need access to your box to see why.

Offline Matthias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2012, 07:08:44 pm »
Nothing besides Windows Firewall and and Microsoft Security Essentials. I just did a little testing and when I turn the firewall off for the Home and Work networks I get a DHCPv6 address but no gateway, dns or stateless autoconfig. If I turn off both the work/home and public network firewall I get two stateless autoconfig address, dns and the link local address of the gateway interface.

Edit: Changing the mode to Managed I get a DHCPv6 assigned address, dns, and gateway with firewall on.

On a side note, is there a way to select multiple firewall rules and disable them in pfsense? took me a while to disable everything but a permit all rule.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 08:20:52 pm by Matthias »

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2012, 02:03:12 pm »
We only have a delete button for firewall rules, but that doesn't sound like too bad of a idea.

Offline Matthias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2012, 04:19:19 pm »
I'll definitely be looking forward to it.

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2012, 04:45:54 pm »
You just have to click on the pass/block/reject icon to quickly disable a single rule. No way to do that in bulk but it doesn't take much to click through even numerous rules to disable them.

Offline Matthias

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Intermittent IPv6 Issues
« Reply #11 on: June 18, 2012, 10:06:38 pm »
Which I do but it does become a bit of a pain to click through roughly 50 rules when you have those nice check boxes right beside each one that could be tied to a disable/enable button.