Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com  (Read 7325 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline srinivas.u

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« on: May 15, 2012, 06:14:48 am »
Fresh install of 2.0-RELEASE, and when I go to Availible Packages, I get the following error message:
"Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com. Please verify DNS and interface configuration, and that pfSense has functional Internet connectivity."


Thanks,

Sri

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2012, 07:37:32 am »
On the pfsense GUI go to Diag -> DNS lookup and see if you can resolve www.pfsense.com.

Offline DraNick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2012, 02:42:34 am »
Hello,

I have the same issue. When I go to packages, available packages I get "unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com" error. On a shell console, with links www.pfsense.com, the index page is displayed but with a high loading time (it took almost a minute to finish loading on a 100MB connection).



DNS lookup from web GUI on www.pfsense.com:


DNS lookup from web GUI on www.pfsense.org:


Please help!

Thank you,

Nick
« Last Edit: August 11, 2012, 02:46:07 am by DraNick »

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2012, 08:40:54 am »
Can you get to it today? Do you have any packages installed? (squid, dansguardian, squidguard ... etc)

Offline DraNick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2012, 01:51:02 pm »
Hello,

Thank you for your answer. No I still can't get to it ... I have no packages installed. This is a default installation.

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2012, 01:57:44 pm »
In general settings where you have the DNS configured, do you have a gateway set? All mine are not set and I don't have any issues like that.

Offline DraNick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2012, 02:10:16 pm »
The DNS servers have NONE as gateway. I don't think that the DNS is the issue. pfsense.com is a round robin or something similar for pfsense.org and pfsense.org resolves correctly. It must be something else ... maybe the pfsense guys are blocking IP addresses/classes?

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2012, 02:23:23 pm »
They are probably only blocking private IPs and bogons. Can you get to www.pfsense.com or updates.pfsense.org or snapshots.pfsense.org from a browser?

Offline DraNick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2012, 12:04:23 am »
Yes I can open all three from a different PC on the same network.

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2012, 05:08:31 am »
Have you modified your outbound NAT rules?

Offline DraNick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2012, 06:05:44 am »
No. The only rules I have are the port forwarding ones. No 1:1 and no Outbound NAT. DNS forwarder has some hosts added but they are local ...

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2012, 06:27:35 am »
Can you traceroute from the pfsense gui and see how far it gets?

Offline DraNick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2012, 06:37:50 am »
Trace result for www.pfsense.com :

Code: [Select]
Traceroute output:

 1  10.0.0.1 (10.0.0.1)  1.563 ms  1.590 ms  3.206 ms
 2  10-112-120-17.private.brasov.rdsnet.ro (10.112.120.17)  2.043 ms  1.186 ms  1.610 ms
 3  qr91.brasov.rdsnet.ro (213.154.145.110)  4.092 ms  1.782 ms  2.119 ms
 4  br01.budapesta.rdsnet.ro (213.154.124.42)  16.241 ms
    br01.budapesta.rdsnet.ro (213.154.125.80)  15.067 ms
    br01.budapesta.rdsnet.ro (213.154.124.46)  15.303 ms
 5  dialup-212.162.26.129.frankfurt1.mik.net (212.162.26.129)  15.488 ms  15.816 ms  15.388 ms
 6  ae-0-11.bar1.Budapest1.Level3.net (4.69.141.241)  23.568 ms  15.601 ms  15.572 ms
 7  4.69.141.250 (4.69.141.250)  31.023 ms  31.187 ms  32.136 ms
 8  ae-47-47.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.143.142)  40.147 ms
    ae-46-46.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.143.138)  39.637 ms
    ae-45-45.ebr2.Paris1.Level3.net (4.69.143.134)  39.630 ms
 9  ae-43-43.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net (4.69.137.58)  117.827 ms
    ae-42-42.ebr2.Washington1.Level3.net (4.69.137.54)  120.639 ms  120.582 ms
10  ae-72-72.csw2.Washington1.Level3.net (4.69.134.150)  119.293 ms  122.298 ms
    ae-92-92.csw4.Washington1.Level3.net (4.69.134.158)  118.830 ms
11  ae-71-71.ebr1.Washington1.Level3.net (4.69.134.133)  121.929 ms
    ae-61-61.ebr1.Washington1.Level3.net (4.69.134.129)  121.729 ms
    ae-71-71.ebr1.Washington1.Level3.net (4.69.134.133)  119.239 ms
12  ae-2-2.ebr3.Atlanta2.Level3.net (4.69.132.85)  132.795 ms  131.355 ms  131.469 ms
13  ae-73-73.ebr2.Atlanta2.Level3.net (4.69.148.254)  132.501 ms  135.469 ms  132.803 ms
14  ae-8-8.car1.Nashville1.Level3.net (4.69.140.229)  327.997 ms  207.828 ms  254.008 ms
15  ae-11-11.car2.Nashville1.Level3.net (4.69.140.225)  141.676 ms  141.377 ms  141.981 ms
16  ae-2-2.car2.Louisville1.Level3.net (4.69.140.221)  144.259 ms  143.807 ms  143.917 ms
17  ae-11-11.car1.Louisville1.Level3.net (4.69.140.217)  142.531 ms  142.507 ms  145.124 ms
18  BLUEGRASSNE.car1.Louisville1.Level3.net (4.59.184.6)  147.579 ms  146.762 ms  146.479 ms
19  * * *
20  * * *

Offline podilarius

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2012, 07:03:30 am »
okay .. open up ssh console and start a tcpdump on your wan. The try to get the packages and see if the traffic is leaving the WAN interface and what the source and destination is.

Offline MauriceS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Unable to communicate with www.pfsense.com
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2013, 11:25:15 pm »
I had the same issue... In my case my WAN port was enabled for DHCPv6, but the router not correctly configured to have DHCPv6 connectivity. I disabled DHCPv6 on the WAN interface, and everything worked...