pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?  (Read 4259 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dLockers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« on: May 19, 2012, 01:26:43 pm »
Hey guys,

I have an awesome ESXi 5 whitebox running various OS's including OpenIndiana/ZFS.

What I would like to do is virtualise my PfSense install to save energy (and remove my Intel 330D box).

Can I connect to my modem through a switch? Or do I have to run a new ethernet cable?

Additionally my Intel 82579 isn't showing up. Has anybody gotten this to work in PfSense?

Many thanks.

Offline biggsy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 04:32:19 pm »
It would be better to run a new cable unless you have a good reason to have a switch in the middle.

Have you installed the 82579 driver in ESXi?  If not:  http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1607992


Offline dLockers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2012, 05:54:12 pm »
No. I'm using pass through. It is undetected in both 32and 64 bit.

I will run a new cable.

Offline thermo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2012, 06:17:03 pm »
If you look at the dmesg output, you'll see that the nic is detected but fails with an error along the lines of 'Device attach failed error 6'. The 82579 (LM?) doesn't play well with passthrough.
You need a second nic or a switch which does vlans.

Offline dLockers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2012, 06:48:16 am »
If you look at the dmesg output, you'll see that the nic is detected but fails with an error along the lines of 'Device attach failed error 6'. The 82579 (LM?) doesn't play well with passthrough.
You need a second nic or a switch which does vlans.
Thanks buddy.

Do you know if this is a passthrough problem, or a driver issue?

Offline thermo

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2012, 03:38:26 pm »
I don't know is the honest answer, but at a guess I'd say passthrough issue as it also doesn't work passed through to a Linux  vm with quite recent kernel and drivers.

Offline dLockers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2012, 08:28:48 am »
Edit:

Max 9mbps using 82574L?

Any ideas?
« Last Edit: June 06, 2012, 01:52:07 pm by dLockers »

Offline dLockers

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2012, 08:24:31 am »
Just configured it through a vSwitch, and it's still only downloading at 9Mbps.

Thought i'd try the e1000 adapter for the LAN but same issue...

Offline mrcola

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2012, 05:40:55 am »
It would be better to run a new cable unless you have a good reason to have a switch in the middle.

Have you installed the 82579 driver in ESXi?  If not:  http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1607992



Hi

How could you configure the ESXi to allow a bridged network between the physical nic and a virtual nic on the guest OS. I would like to let my visualized pfSense to connect to the internet using PPPoE

Offline louis-m

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 263
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: ESXi 5 - Intel 82579 - PPPoE Through Switch?
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2012, 04:35:29 pm »
you can do it with an L2 managed switch. my setup has:

on the switch:
port 23 = tagged vlan100 with vdsl modem connected
port 24 = tagged vlan100, vlan201, vlan202, vlan 203 which is connected to intel nic on esxi5 host
other ports on switch tagged as required

on esxi host:
virtual switch is set to allow all vlans (vlans are not set here)

on pfsense vm:
interfaces are set as vlan - vlan100 = wan, vlan201 = lan1, vlan202 = lan2, vlan203 = lan3
wan interface is pppoe

although i haven't tried it, i would imagine if i wanted a multiwan, it would be as simple as adding another vlan eg vlan101 to port 22 & 24 of the switch and to pfsense and then set the desired routing.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2012, 04:40:04 pm by louis-m »