The pfSense Store

Author Topic: [ER] package hiding  (Read 869 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rcfa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 565
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
[ER] package hiding
« on: May 22, 2012, 07:04:15 pm »
Since the package system is being changed...
...it would be nice if there were in the future the ability to hide packages to avoid accidental installation of packages. e.g.

someone installs freeradius2 package, so it would be useful for that person to hide the freeradius package in the list of available packages, to avoid a clash
or
someone installs Quagga OSPF, that person would likely want to avoid an accidental install of OpenOSPF
or
some package is known to cause trouble in a particular version of the pfSense OS, so hiding it would be useful to prevent it from cluttering up the list of available packages
etc.

« Last Edit: May 23, 2012, 04:31:50 pm by rcfa »

Offline markuhde

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 188
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Since the package system is being changed...
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 07:06:44 pm »
It would, but that'd also prevent installing broken packages and trying to make them work. Example: I have FreeRADIUS 2 running on 2.1 by installing the (non-functional) package, then messing with it's files until it started working.

Offline rcfa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 565
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
[ER] bulk install, bulk delete
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 07:12:33 pm »
I'm not talking about a centralized hiding, but a user specified hiding. e.g. next to each available package is a check box, and then at the bottom a "hide all selected packages".

Similarly, there would be a link to a "hidden packages" page, where one can selectively un-hide packages.

But sometimes there is just too much clutter on the available packages page, things that one knows one will never want to deal with always show up, making it harder to find what one wants or to see newly added packages.

If I can go once through the list, and either hide or install a package, then I end up with a list of "available" packages that is empty, unless something new shows up, which then is easy to spot.

Heck, another good addition would be batch install: same check box next to the packages, but then instead of  "hide all selected packages" an "install all selecteded pakages" button...

Conversely, the same should be possible to de-install packages in bulk
« Last Edit: May 23, 2012, 04:32:44 pm by rcfa »

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9995
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Since the package system is being changed...
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2012, 09:25:55 pm »
Until 2.1 package system and daily build are finished, you have some extra steps on console to get the packages working.  It's a development version yet. Some bugs and extra config are expected.

Offline rcfa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 565
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Since the package system is being changed...
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2012, 09:44:51 pm »
Uhm, this wasn't supposed to be a bug report, but a feature suggestion, given that the package system is being worked on, it would seem like a good time to consider something like that...

So far I have nothing specific to report about the package system not working; I'm sure given what you wrote above, I'll find one or the other wrinkle, but I'm not expecting anything different, given that this isn't a stable release version.

Offline marcelloc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9995
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Since the package system is being changed...
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2012, 10:02:13 pm »
I'm waiting for this finished too ;) Core team and all developers that helps on 2.1 devel are working hard to finish it as soon as possible.

Take a look on packages topics.
Most packages has a workaround for it's install.
One I saw is still broken for 2.1 is the widescreen package.