pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: Alix wifi bridge. Wifi card recommendation  (Read 1266 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline technopop

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Alix wifi bridge. Wifi card recommendation
« on: May 31, 2012, 10:55:00 am »
Hello,

I'm looking to replace a couple of WRT54GL - DD-WRT routers that are doing AP/client bridge duty between two buildings 400 meters apart.

I'm thinking PFsense and an Alix box and use the existing 24dbi antennae.  I'm looking for recommendations on a wifi card. 


Offline Feadin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Alix wifi bridge. Wifi card recommendation
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2012, 07:38:33 pm »
I have been using a Compex WLM54SAG23 miniPCI card for about two years now and it always worked perfectly. Bought it directly from PCEngines.

Offline bmironb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Alix wifi bridge. Wifi card recommendation
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2012, 12:26:07 am »
  It's inconvenient to use AP wired to alix ? i think is a better solution in comparation with wifi cards, you also could use 300mbs acess points and on those to use antennas.From my experience  will be a better solution and more stable, i'm using pfsense but on pc platform with AP on lan AP is exactly your specified routers from above.

Offline Feadin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Alix wifi bridge. Wifi card recommendation
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2012, 05:27:14 am »
An external AP would give you access to 802.11n, that would be faster yes, but not necessarily more stable. An Alix with an Atheros 5413 card is perfectly stable, and it supports 802.11a wich is often used for wireless bridging because it usually have much less interference. It ultimately depends on how much speed and flexibility you really need.

 It's inconvenient to use AP wired to alix ? i think is a better solution in comparation with wifi cards, you also could use 300mbs acess points and on those to use antennas.From my experience  will be a better solution and more stable, i'm using pfsense but on pc platform with AP on lan AP is exactly your specified routers from above.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 01:05:42 pm by Feadin »