pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: IPv6 and Facebook  (Read 2409 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Darevas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
IPv6 and Facebook
« on: June 11, 2012, 12:27:12 pm »
Hi everyone

first, sorry about my english  :-\

I need some help about IPv6 and Facebook

before this big change, I have blocked facebook using Aliases and Rules and this works excellent

Now Its change to IPv6 and The students and Workers can access to that
i found the range (thanks to http://bgp.he.net/)
2620:0000:1c00:: /40

and i change the rules to Ipv4+IPv6
IPv4+6 TCP     *     *    Facebook     80 - 443

but doesn´t work, maybe i choose the incorrect range
or another config to try.

thanls a lot for your answers.

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 and Facebook
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2012, 12:57:55 pm »
i don't think aliases for ipv6 are working yet

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14994
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 and Facebook
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2012, 01:07:23 pm »
Aliases work fine in IPv6

You have the wrong range, or at least not all of them.

Code: [Select]
$ host www.facebook.com
www.facebook.com has address 69.171.229.70
www.facebook.com has IPv6 address 2a03:2880:10:8f02:face:b00c:0:25

That IPv6 address is nowhere near what you have.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline bardelot

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 176
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 and Facebook
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2012, 02:27:03 pm »
Their IPv6 range is 2620:0000:1c00::/40 and 2a03:2880::/32

Offline Cino

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 and Facebook
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2012, 02:29:41 pm »
Aliases work fine in IPv6

guess i'm behind a little...lol thanks for letting me know

Offline wallabybob

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 and Facebook
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2012, 06:18:10 pm »
Where I live (Australia) youtube.com maps to different IPv4 addresses than it does in the UK. Maybe something similar happens to facebook.com IPv6 addresses.

Did you add the IPv6 subnets to your alias? (You didn't say you did.)

Offline Darevas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 and Facebook
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2012, 08:15:58 am »
Where I live (Australia) youtube.com maps to different IPv4 addresses than it does in the UK. Maybe something similar happens to facebook.com IPv6 addresses.

Did you add the IPv6 subnets to your alias? (You didn't say you did.)


Yes, i have a Alias named "Facebook" in that, i have a lot of Ipv4 and now
the New IPv6 Ranges

I Will add the subnets
thanks a lot for your answers

Offline databeestje

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1048
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • It just might be your luck day, if you only knew.
    • View Profile
Re: IPv6 and Facebook
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2012, 01:47:11 pm »
The combined protocol rules are pretty new, so if it doesn't work let us know.