pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails  (Read 2806 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bgbearcatfan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • GO UC!
    • View Profile
Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« on: June 13, 2012, 12:25:38 am »
Hoping someone can help me out.  I am currently using pfsense with two WAN interfaces over DHCP.  The problem i have is when i try to force traffic over the second WAN interface (using firewall rule to force over WAN2), it fails, and i get the following error message in system logs:

kernel: arpresolve: can't allocate llinfo for xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

This error repeats about every few seconds.  All traffic fails going outside of the firewall although i can still communicate through internal lan.  I am not using any kind of traffic shaping or load balancing.  The end goal is to have a second WAN interface that can be used for a second web server using https traffic amongst a few other ports already in use on the first WAN interface.

If i force all traffic to the first WAN (using firewall rule to force over WAN1) all works as expected.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide me with.
/Brian
/2.0.1-RELEASE
built on Mon Dec 12 18:24:17 EST 2011

Offline bgbearcatfan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • GO UC!
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2012, 09:43:17 pm »
An update...

I put in matching Gig intel network cards (same model and everything) and i still have the same problem.  When i'm running just one wan interface everything is great, but all hell breaks lose when i enable the second wan.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2012, 01:00:57 am by bgbearcatfan »
/Brian
/2.0.1-RELEASE
built on Mon Dec 12 18:24:17 EST 2011

Offline stax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2012, 06:53:28 pm »
Are both interfaces totally separated?  no linking between them?

Offline bgbearcatfan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • GO UC!
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2012, 05:11:23 pm »
It goes like this:

                                               Wan1
                                                --->   
ISP Modem        --->    Hub-----|            ---->    pfSense
                                                --->   
                                               Wan2
/Brian
/2.0.1-RELEASE
built on Mon Dec 12 18:24:17 EST 2011

Online cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2012, 07:12:49 pm »
That log message is what you get when the system tries to ARP something that isn't on a locally connected network (may be possible in other circumstances but that's the only time I've seen it). What's the IP, subnet, gateway like on that interface? Is the gateway and subnet different on each WAN?

Offline bgbearcatfan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • GO UC!
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2012, 02:47:23 pm »
The gateway and subnet are the same on both wan interfaces.

Subnet:    255.255.240.0
Gateway:  72.49.176.1
IP's for both WAN's:  72.49.190.xxx and 72.49.185.xxx
/Brian
/2.0.1-RELEASE
built on Mon Dec 12 18:24:17 EST 2011

Offline heper

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 676
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2012, 03:50:06 pm »
pfsense does not support same gateway for multiple wan interfaces ...
only way,i know, to get it to work is by putting a cheap linksys/dlink/whatever router in between 1 of the interface

Online cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2012, 07:21:59 pm »
yeah that's why, that must be another circumstance that can trigger that. The system has an ARP entry for that gateway IP on another NIC, and you're trying to force it to ARP that on a different NIC, and one particular IP can only have one ARP entry. An intermediate box doing NAT on one of the WANs is the way to work around that.

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2012, 01:14:28 pm »
I have seen that before when my cable modem lost sync and some states were still around from the 192.168.x.x IP for whatever reason. Since pf still had states referring to that gateway, the ARP errors continued.

Try resetting the states table (or perhaps run pfctl -g x.x.x.x  where x.x.x.x is the IP you're seeing the arp messages for) and see if they clear up.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline bgbearcatfan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • GO UC!
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2012, 01:44:36 pm »
I'm pretty sure i tried that already, but i'll give it another shot.  Sounds like i might just be sol
/Brian
/2.0.1-RELEASE
built on Mon Dec 12 18:24:17 EST 2011

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2012, 02:09:41 pm »
OK. (Actually it's pfctl -b, not -g, apparently had a brain misfile on my last reply)
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline webdawg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2012, 06:39:32 am »
pfsense does not support same gateway for multiple wan interfaces ...
only way,i know, to get it to work is by putting a cheap linksys/dlink/whatever router in between 1 of the interface

I thought it did now.
« Last Edit: June 28, 2012, 06:41:07 am by webdawg »

Offline jimp

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14998
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2012, 06:43:26 am »
pfsense does not support same gateway for multiple wan interfaces ...
only way,i know, to get it to work is by putting a cheap linksys/dlink/whatever router in between 1 of the interface

I thought it did now.

Only for PPPoE, not DHCP/Static/anything else.
Need help fast? Commercial Support!

Co-Author of pfSense: The Definitive Guide. - Check the Doc Wiki for FAQs.

Do not PM for help!

Offline webdawg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2012, 06:47:51 am »
pfsense does not support same gateway for multiple wan interfaces ...
only way,i know, to get it to work is by putting a cheap linksys/dlink/whatever router in between 1 of the interface

I thought it did now.

Only for PPPoE, not DHCP/Static/anything else.

Ahh...No wonder my Multiwan PPPoE is working.

Offline dwaynee77

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Multi WAN on DHCP Fails
« Reply #14 on: July 24, 2012, 04:16:50 am »
I don't call that multi WAN dude, one WAN, seperated using switch??