pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: i386 or amd64  (Read 1183 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SectorNine50

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
i386 or amd64
« on: June 25, 2012, 05:11:11 pm »
Hi guys,
Did a brief search, but unfortunately this topic seems to bring up a lot of threads since amd64 and i386 is used a ton in various threads.

I'm about to set up two pfSense boxes for a IPSec tunnel, and was curious about which would be a better choice from a reliability standpoint.  I remember reading a while back that the i386 release of pfSense seemed to have better package support (ie. was more stable); is that still/was it ever the case?

The Atom processors I have on the way support 64-bit, so I figured I might as well use it, unless there was a reason not to.

Thanks!

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: i386 or amd64
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2012, 05:51:36 pm »
In general I would recommend if you have > 4 GB RAM, definitely go with amd64. Otherwise probably i386. But it really doesn't matter either way most always.

No package difference between them anymore, there was for a while since i386 was much more tested by package developers and there were missing amd64 binaries, but those issues have long since been resolved. On rare occasions, people see driver-related issues on amd64 that aren't an issue on i386.

Offline rcfa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 565
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: i386 or amd64
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2012, 04:48:20 am »
I'd say, unless you have a specific reason not to go with amd64, use it, because 32-bit computing is going the way of the dodo. Who's still using 8-bit or 16-bit CPUs? In a couple of years people will ask the same question about 32-bit architectures. Might as well get on the train now, and not have to switch later...

Online stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8155
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: i386 or amd64
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2012, 07:20:16 am »
Not sure I'd agree with that.
It's not like there's a learning curve for switching to 64bit, so you'd better start learning now!  ::)
There isn't you just choose another ISO. For most people you wouldn't even know which version you're running.
If there was some huge performance advantage then it would be a no-brainer but there isn't (last time I checked). Though it seems like there should be given that you can handle twice as many bits per cpu cycle.
Pretty much the only reason I can think of for running 64bit is if you need >4GB of ram.

Advantages of not running 64bit; code is more tested and hence more stable. Though it's probably marginal.  ;)

Steve

Offline SectorNine50

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: i386 or amd64
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2012, 11:32:26 am »
Thanks for the input!  Sounds like I can't really go wrong either way. 

Figure I might as well do 64-bit, just in case there is some sudden mass exodus away from 32-bit in the future...  ;)

Offline cmb

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6333
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • LinkedIn
    • Twitter
    • View Profile
    • Chris Buechler
Re: i386 or amd64
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2012, 12:00:07 am »
Figure I might as well do 64-bit, just in case there is some sudden mass exodus away from 32-bit in the future...  ;)

You're probably safe with 32 bit up until Y2K38. ;) At that point, probably won't be possible to run 32 bit anymore. But I sure hope it isn't a sudden mass exodus in early 2038.  :P