Netgate m1n1wall

Author Topic: setting up a VLAN part 2  (Read 8555 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tomdlgns

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
Re: setting up a VLAN part 2
« Reply #105 on: July 06, 2012, 09:01:44 am »
In your diagram above port 4 on Switch8 and port 8 on Switch24 are marked E for both VLANs.
Did you change them to U subsequently?
They should be T as you said.

Steve

did i mess up or did you miss something?

your post is correct in that the ports were marked as E, but not on the same vlan that i was referring to.

thanks.

Offline stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8077
    • View Profile
Re: setting up a VLAN part 2
« Reply #106 on: July 06, 2012, 10:41:36 am »
No I didn't realise you were refering to VLAN1.

This is where is gets confusing. VLAN1, the default VLAN, is usually only ever tagged within the switch. Although you can send it tagged between switches you could equally send it untagged with no difference in the logical network layout.

Anyway I think you have it correct.

Steve

Offline tomdlgns

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
Re: setting up a VLAN part 2
« Reply #107 on: July 06, 2012, 11:11:30 am »
No I didn't realise you were refering to VLAN1.

This is where is gets confusing. VLAN1, the default VLAN, is usually only ever tagged within the switch. Although you can send it tagged between switches you could equally send it untagged with no difference in the logical network layout.

Anyway I think you have it correct.

Steve

ok, well now that we are on the same page, see if you can help me out with this...

both my vlan switches are on the 192 network.

8 port- 192.168.1.20
24 port- 192.168.1.9

for now, there are 0 rules in play to block vlans

here is the issue.

i get a laptop and join it to the 172 or 10 network, w/o any issues, i can ping 192.168.1.20 and 192.168.1.9...replies come back for both.

i can web into the .20 8 port switch but i cant web into the .9 port switch.

do you know why that is?

everything is tagged as i typed it in my most recent tagged/untagged port above.

not sure why i can ping and web into .20 but i can only ping .9 and not web into it.

the .9 switch is more advanced, i wonder if there is some sort of option i am missing?  i am almost certain in the 24 port, .9, switch each vlan can have its own gateway address and i know i set the gateway for vlan1 at 192.168.1.1, but i dont know that would cause me to not be able to web into it, locally.

thanks.

Offline stephenw10

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8077
    • View Profile
Re: setting up a VLAN part 2
« Reply #108 on: July 06, 2012, 02:24:25 pm »
Hmmm.
The 24 port switch is significantly more complex.
It may have a setting that limits web GUI access to clients from it's own subnet. Since you are trying to access it routed via pfSense it would block that connection. This is relatively common.

Steve

Offline tomdlgns

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
Re: setting up a VLAN part 2
« Reply #109 on: July 06, 2012, 02:30:07 pm »
Hmmm.
The 24 port switch is significantly more complex.
It may have a setting that limits web GUI access to clients from it's own subnet. Since you are trying to access it routed via pfSense it would block that connection. This is relatively common.

Steve

ok good, that makes me feel a little better about not being able to connect to it.

thanks for your help.