The pfSense Store

Author Topic: Reboot Issue  (Read 776 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mdpugh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reboot Issue
« on: July 20, 2012, 09:29:20 pm »
If this question has been asked and answered, I apologize for asking again.  Hopefully, it's an easy question.  I am in the process of upgrading my pfSense boxes to new(er) hardware.  A problem I was having on one of the old boxes I am now having on the new(er) one: when I reboot the system, it shuts dows to the "Uptime" message and hangs.  I have to physically press the Reset button to get it to reboot.  Needless to say, that is a pain since my gateways are not conveniently located.  Any clue what could be causing this?  I had originally assumed it was a hardware issue with the old machine, but this machine had no problem rebooting from other OS installations so I am now at a loss.  Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Offline Lee Sharp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reboot Issue
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 10:21:37 am »
Jump into the BIOS and try some different power management settings.  In the goal to appear to save power, they have been doing lots of odd things in APIC lately.

Offline mdpugh

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reboot Issue
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2012, 03:46:28 pm »
My first thought as well, but I've tried every conceivable permutation to no avail.  I do suspect hardware issues though.  It's an ASUS P5S800-VM motherboard and the net is full of complaints about this or a very similar problem with this board and several versions of Unix/Linux.  Many complaints, but no solutions.  I picked up three of these for this particular purpose and now I suspect they're essentially junk.