pfSense Gold Subscription

Author Topic: UPNP fails when play  (Read 30821 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline forum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
UPNP fails when play
« on: June 26, 2007, 04:31:43 pm »
hi my pfsenses upnp will not work when i play game on xbox 360 ok it works for a while but after i have ben loged out and in 6-7 the upnp in pfsense stop working. is this a problem whit this or not bquse in the old verison of upnp it,s work but not now why ?

Offline hoby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2007, 09:41:33 pm »
I can confirm this issue.  The 360 requires an "OPEN" NAT type for most of its online features such as chat, coop play, and multiplayer.  At times the 360 will register that UPNP on PFSense is "Strict" NAT, and most online features will fail.   It only does this after the initial successful attempt to play.  I am not sure if its a set amount of time, or that it fails only after the initial successful attempt.

Here is what happens with the 1.2 beta 1...

Upnp is enabled, and I can play on Xbox live with no issue.  If I come back the next day, Upnp sessions are still listed, and I can't play online... I remove the sessions and I still cannot play.

If I reset the sessions, then go into the Network test area on the Xbox 360, and it runs all its connectiving tests, including NAT, it will say that the nat type is "OPEN", and then I can go back and play without issue.

I understand this is an odd issue, but its very annoying, and the only thing preventing me from using PFsense again after ditching Astaro...

Thanks for your time and all your great work!

Offline hoby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2007, 01:03:24 pm »
Nobody has checked into this?

Offline forum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2007, 04:53:08 pm »
no i havent start my 360 for 6-7 times but i will test it out  soon. i don,t ewen think they care about this but this can bee a big sceurity alert when all the pepols meet...

Offline jeroen234

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 505
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2007, 02:14:55 am »
wait until the xbox 360 folks fix there upnp problems
microsoft use many times non standard things
and espect every one to folow it
that is 89%  of the times not the way how tings works
and makes a lot of peaple mad



Offline hoby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2007, 07:07:37 am »
Its easy to blame Microsoft and Xbox for this, but its not their problem.  It works fine with 5 other routers, and 2 other implementations of  UPNP.

Their is some sort of overflow/logging bug in the Pfsense UPNP instance, and it sticks until you reboot, or reset it.

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2007, 12:10:40 pm »
pfSense uses miniupnpd.  Feel free to provide patches that fix this.  Otherwise send me an xbox 360 and I will fix it.

Offline hoby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2007, 03:42:59 pm »
Hey!  ;D  I would send one if I had a spare, but I would miss mine too much!

Offline forum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2007, 04:20:55 pm »
yeah me too. but i want to say some thing i really like the pfsense god work with it.  the 1.2 beta 1 was a littele bit better the clear button was function probely on that one on this one the reset button don,t work i dont now why yet. but it will be a huge + if the upnp work functionely when the real 1.2 is out.

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2007, 04:44:10 pm »
Considering that we cannot get a hold of Ryan (the miniupnpd/pfSense integration specialist) due to his dynamic dns domain expiring I hate to say it but the chances are slim to none.

Offline forum

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2007, 05:57:32 pm »
ok but can you plz ask him to do it ? or if you guys get any time over plz fix it and i will be more than happy to have pfsense back agin.

Offline sullrich

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
    • View Profile
    • pfSense
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2007, 06:26:25 pm »
You must have overlooked the part that read that we cannot get ahold of him?

Offline rsw686

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
    • The Reptile File
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2007, 12:56:12 am »
Sorry for not being around for awhile. My dynamic dns service provider dynu.com system is screwed. I've called them for weeks no answer to phone calls or emails. I'm assuming their out of business or they just don't give a crap. I got fed up. I spent some time on my hobby and upgraded my 56gal to a 90gal saltwater fish tank, which I had to build the stand, plumb, etc, and then I was out of town for awhile.

Anyway I have gmail now and use dyndns.org for my dynamic domain service. I spent some time tonight working on miniupnpd webgui issues like the reset button on upnp status, the services status page so you can start/stop it and some of the miniupnpd.inc code. I need to test this out my throughly and make sure it starts up correctly on reboot. Miniupnpd went through major changes after 1.2 beta 1 since it had to be made to work on the live cd.

I have an xbox 360 sitting here, never use the thing, but I can fire it up and see what the problem is. Do I just sign in and out of xbox live a few times or if you could give me the exact procedure to make miniupnpd crash that would be great.

Again I apologize for not getting in touch on here sooner.

Offline hoby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2007, 07:53:37 am »
The best way to test this, is set the Xbox 360 up with a static address, and then go into the settings, and run the Xbox Live network test, and it it reports "Strict" for NAT, then its not working correctly.  With proper Upnp functions, it should report "Open" for NAT, and then you know that all Xbox live features should work correctly, such as private voice chat, and multiplayer online.

Strict NAT will mean that you may get online, and a few features will work, but you really want the test to report back "Open" NAT for full feature set of Xbox Live.

I can force it do work like this by setting the Xbox to dynamic address, resetting Miniupnpd, and then run the network test, and it will report as open.  The problem seems to be that it isn't consistant, and I have to reset the daemon to get it to work, and sometimes it doesn't even seem to work after forcing it.  I am not sure that its routing both TCP/UDP 3074, and UDP 88 are routing properly...

Offline rsw686

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
    • View Profile
    • The Reptile File
Re: UPNP fails when play
« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2007, 02:46:54 pm »
I just fixed the following.

- fixed clear button on upnp status page
- fixed start/stop/restart buttons on services status page
- fixed so miniupnpd will correctly start at boot
- fixed when restarting service that previous redirect rules are cleared out

I will look at the open vs strict nat issue probably Wednesday morning. I'm really not sure why its doing this and can't guarantee I can fix it.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2007, 03:00:42 pm by rsw686 »