The pfSense Store

Author Topic: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)  (Read 55138 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AhnHEL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
  • Karma: +18/-0
  • It is what it is.
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #30 on: February 10, 2013, 02:56:59 pm »
AhnHEL (Angel)
NYC

2 pfSense sites: 2.4.2 (amd64)
Dell 755 SFF E6550 @ 2.3Ghz, 4GB RAM, 100/30 Mbps, Intel X3959
Dell 7010 SFF i5-3570 @ 3.4Ghz, 8GB RAM, 940/880 Mbps, Intel X3959
OpenVPN (Road Warrior), pfBlockerNG, Gaming


Offline matguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 254
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #31 on: February 10, 2013, 08:30:28 pm »
Nice looking case. What is Inteno? I searched it on bing.com and only found reference to a open source platform, and something about a broadband service in Sweden.
Looks like a specialized box for a particular IPTV solution.

http://www.inteno.se/store/tabid/141/categoryid/130/productid/444/default.aspx
http://www.mariehem.net/nyheter/2012/03/inteno-boxen-och-inkoppling-av-ip-tv (translation may be required)

Offline mattias197711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #32 on: February 11, 2013, 12:56:14 am »
they are used as a switch here in sweden when you have fiber.

for Internet, TV, and extra box for ip phone

Offline slu

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 277
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #33 on: February 11, 2013, 06:29:49 am »
i5 @ 2.67GHz

  • Captive Portal
  • Vlan
  • three PPPoE
  • OpenVPN Server
  • ...
pfSense Gold subscription

Offline johnpoz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14444
  • Karma: +1337/-200
  • Not a pfSense employee, they cannot fire me...
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #34 on: February 13, 2013, 12:53:59 pm »
Wanted to join the fun - don't have pic of hardware handy, but mine is just a VM anyway running on

HP N40L
AMD Turion II Neo N40L 1.5GHz 2-Core
8GB Ram
Embedded NC107i PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Server Adapter
2nd Nic - INTEL EXPI9301CT
HDD 250GB, 2TB, 2x 750GB


- An intelligent man is sometimes forced to be drunk to spend time with his fools.
- Please don't PM me for personal help
- if you want to say thanks applaud or https://www.freebsdfoundation.org/donate/
1x SG-2440 2.3.4_p1 (work)
1x SG-4860 2.4.2-RELEASE (home)

Offline mattias197711

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #35 on: February 15, 2013, 07:59:22 am »
will send a pics if i can get my Alpha 500 something to work with pfSense.

heres a cool pic of the über gfx card


Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11914
  • Karma: +468/-15
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #36 on: February 15, 2013, 08:19:35 am »

Offline Zorac

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #37 on: February 19, 2013, 07:39:04 pm »
on the far right, p4, pico power supply, no video (onboard or otherwise).  with no video, it surprisingly efficient.  I had another p4 with onboard video, and it used twice the power, no matter if you were using the video or not.

the far left is a high efficiency 12v power supply.  powers the router, switch, wireless, and some other stuff.

Offline fabio.vigano

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
    • pfSense Italy la risorsa italiana per pfSense
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #38 on: May 19, 2013, 03:08:30 pm »
Hi!
here is my solution:

2 x Appliance pfSense 2.0.3

Hardware
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2,8 GHz 65 watt
RAM: 4 GB DDR3 SDRAM
HDD: 2.5" SATA 160 GB
Ethernet: 8 x 10/100/1000

Configuration
4 x WAN
1 X LAN
1 x SYNC

Cluster CARP + Multi Wan
10 x VLAN
DHCP
DNS
Snort IDS
Content filter Squid + Squidguard
Captive Portal + Vouchers
HAVP Antivirus







Fabio
========================
pfSenseItaly.com
La risorsa italiana per pfSense

Offline hiddensoul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #39 on: June 06, 2013, 07:30:58 pm »
Okay I have been upgrading my home network, just ordered AUD180 worth of Cat6 cables to replace the ageing cat 5 stuff as I have just upgraded the switch to gigabit and I also am getting a 1RU cable management tray for the gap between the switch and rack mount box running pfsense

I have also just replaced my Smoothwall OS with pfSense and haven't looked back.

Here are a few photos of what i have so far, some of the stuff like the gaming console's are currently wireless but they will be hard wired in the next few weeks when the cables arrive.

This is the  Main desk in the house, it is for my wife's work station which is on the left running dual head monitors and my Sons gaming PC is at the right, near the printer and in the far left corner is the cabinet I built from an old fire control panel to house the network gear and server, a few close ups of the cabinet to follow, the desk is a bit rough as I built it myself and I am not a carpenter lol



The Network cabinet built in to the end of the desk, the server, pfsense box and switch are inside and I am going to mount an android 7" tablet and Bluetooth keyboard in the right of the cabinet for SSH and web admin.. on top of the cabinet from left to right is the wireless AP, VOIP ATA and the ADSL modem with Nokia 9500 that I use as a SSH terminal via WiFi. In the yellow box in the cabinet is some spare rack hardware and network cable tester.



Close up of appliances on top of cabinet



Cabinet opened up, the inside is a bit rough looking as I had to cut it up with a grinder to make it a rack mount cabinet, I will be painting the inside of the cabinet flat black and will be putting a light smoke tint on the glass as it is glass and not perspex, it wont scratch so will buy some car tint and put it on the inside of the glass



Close up of the inside of the cabinet, freeNAS file server on left then the pfsense box in the 1RU computer, cable management tray will go in when I get the new cables between the firewall and switch which is a 3com 2924 gigabit managed switch



And finally a photo of my HAM radio shack, or at least the computer work station section, the radios are around the other side, my HAM shack is an 8 foot by 8 foot tin garden shed :)






Offline AhnHEL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
  • Karma: +18/-0
  • It is what it is.
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #40 on: June 07, 2013, 01:47:59 pm »
^
Loving the hostname tags on your hardware.

 ;)

and...

"In Case of Emergency LAN Party, Break Glass."
« Last Edit: June 07, 2013, 01:50:12 pm by AhnHEL »
AhnHEL (Angel)
NYC

2 pfSense sites: 2.4.2 (amd64)
Dell 755 SFF E6550 @ 2.3Ghz, 4GB RAM, 100/30 Mbps, Intel X3959
Dell 7010 SFF i5-3570 @ 3.4Ghz, 8GB RAM, 940/880 Mbps, Intel X3959
OpenVPN (Road Warrior), pfBlockerNG, Gaming


Offline ptt

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2291
  • Karma: +388/-46
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #41 on: June 07, 2013, 07:01:52 pm »
I just hope that his "Titanic" don't sink.....   :P    :D

Offline hiddensoul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #42 on: June 08, 2013, 12:12:44 am »
The Titanic file server is actually SS Titanic named after the Srat Ship Titanic from Douglas Adams not RMS Titanic, and it is meant to sink....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Starship_Titanic

As in a file sink or a place to dump all the crap my family wants to keep and it did crash once, I bought a brand new 3TB drive a few months ago to put in it to up the storage and had it in a USB external housing to transfer files to it and knocked it off the desk :(  it didnt work after that, it lasted all of 4 hours and I am still saving money to buy a replacement oh well BS happens
« Last Edit: June 08, 2013, 12:19:18 am by hiddensoul »

Offline hiddensoul

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #43 on: June 08, 2013, 01:21:07 am »
^
Loving the hostname tags on your hardware.

 ;)

and...

"In Case of Emergency LAN Party, Break Glass."

See my other post for a list of hostnames on my network http://forum.pfsense.org/index.php/topic,63179.0.html

Some have meaning some are random..

VOIP ATA is Money Penny the receptionist from James bond because it handles the phone calls
Octopussy also a Bond reference is the network switch, that is self evident
Phaser for the Laser printer Start Trek. The full name is Phaser's set to stun
My Ham Shack 8 port switch has blue LEDs so is called Bluering as in Blue ring octopus
Apollo for the Wireless AP as Apollo is the god of the sun and light ie wireless as light is the original WiFi using mirrors
One Son uses random names for his devices
My other son has all Stargate names
My Wife has Egyptian names
And I use Futurama Names
« Last Edit: June 08, 2013, 01:45:11 am by hiddensoul »

Offline davidjtsteele

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #44 on: June 10, 2013, 11:26:04 am »
I wonder what were talking about.