pfSense Support Subscription

Author Topic: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)  (Read 55247 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mikeisfly

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #60 on: January 13, 2014, 05:22:58 pm »
Nice! Very Clean!

Offline Sifter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #61 on: January 13, 2014, 05:35:43 pm »

Yes, I have a problem. I'm trying to cut down.  ;)

Steve

Wanna offload one to me?

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11921
  • Karma: +468/-15
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #62 on: January 13, 2014, 05:45:40 pm »
Are you in the UK?

Steve

Offline Sifter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #63 on: January 14, 2014, 09:20:29 am »
Are you in the UK?

Steve

Oops, just saw you were in London.  USA here.

Offline jcer93705

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #64 on: January 23, 2014, 04:55:14 am »
Here is mine. The rack I got it for 200 bucks. But guy selling for 100. I told him i'll give him 100 bucks more and yup he brought it. I love it I just need to get another shelf for back post to hold up my rack servers. Anyway's there more detail in this video. And here are pictures. Oh by the way the last bottom server is my firewall. Old p3 server working as a champ. :D


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vEcbFl6y5cc

















Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4612
  • Karma: +551/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #65 on: January 25, 2014, 01:22:55 am »
Let's go from big to small. This stuff is direct-wired to 12V DC from 150AH tubular batteries, which are charged exclusively by solar:
Alix 2D13 pfSense (12V)
Cisco SF100D-05 100Mbps switch (12V)
Fit-PC3 running Windows Server 2008R2 (12V)
ISP wireless device (not shown) (24V DC POE feed from across 2 batteries)
QNAS (in another room) (12V DC)
and we plan to put a TP-Link TL-MR-3420 (also 12V) in place of the Cisco switch so we get GB from Fit-PC3 to QNAS, and get WiFi, all on 24/7 solar powered 12/24V DC.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2014, 01:27:16 am by phil.davis »
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/

Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11921
  • Karma: +468/-15
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #66 on: January 25, 2014, 05:36:12 am »
Good stuff Phil.  :)
I think I may have asked you this before and then forgotten, I can't remember! Are these powered directly from the batteries (~11-14V) or some regulated 12V source? Also do you have have some fancy charging/conditioning device between the panels and the batteries? I'm always interested in peoples solar power experiences.

Steve

Offline phil.davis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4612
  • Karma: +551/-3
    • View Profile
    • International Nepal Fellowship
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #67 on: January 25, 2014, 10:54:39 am »
Panels, batteries and DC out are all connected to a charge controller. But the DC out is not particularly regulated, so the devices have to copy with 11-14V (at the most 10-15V), which they do. I will take some charge controller pics on Monday and also see if I can get some actual running DC power consumption numbers (watts) for each device. (The engineering guy putting together our "standard" office solar installation package has the necessary measurement gear)

Edit, added:
DC power consumption @ 13.8V from solar/battery system:
Fit-PC3 roughly idling - 0.9A = 12.4W, running hard - 1.5A = 20.7W
Alix 2D13 - 0.3A = 4.1W (hmmm, a little low to believe?)
Cisco SF100D-05 5-port 100Mbps switch - 0.15A = 2W
QNAS TS-212 - idling 0.7A = 9.7W - disks working 1.0A = 13.8W - in standby waiting for scheduled wake <0.1A = <1W
« Last Edit: January 28, 2014, 03:04:25 am by phil.davis »
As the Greek philosopher Isosceles used to say, "There are 3 sides to every triangle."
If I helped you, then help someone else - buy someone a gift from the INF catalog http://secure.inf.org/gifts/usd/

Offline nexusN

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #68 on: February 09, 2014, 08:41:41 pm »
 8)

Offline peersu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #69 on: March 04, 2014, 09:10:33 am »
Here's my new one... running on ESXi 5.5 ... Supermicro/Rangeley SOC :)

Offline Harvy66

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2219
  • Karma: +204/-12
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #70 on: March 04, 2014, 12:36:03 pm »
Messy I know, but here it is. My first OpenSource box outside of messing with Linux back around '97

This is a Haswell i5-4570 Quad core 3.2ghz (VT-X, VT-D, AES, RND, TSX-NI, No HT), with 8GB of 2x4GB G.Skill 8-8-8-24 1600 DDR3, 2x Samsung 120gb 840 EVOs, and an Intel i350-T2. The switch is an HP v1810-24G, which is a L2 managed switch.

Currently, the green cable is WAN side for the box and red is the LAN, but I will be changing WAN to yellow and LAN to green. The white cable is from my old router which is a Netgear 3700 acting as a wireless AP with no DHCP, grey is my computer, which has the management VLAN tagged to my port and the empty port below is an untagged management VLAN. All other ports to the left are untagged "LAN" VLAN. Blue is the wife's comp.

No conf file tweaks or anything. A fairly standard install plus the Unbound package.




I was able to run some very simple benchmarks where my wife's computer was on one side of the firewall and mine was on the other. I was using PSPing which is like iperf. I had 4 instances running, 2 sending and 2 receiving. I actually get the same throughput directly over the switch as I do through PFSense, about 1.3gb/s total. My throughput limitation seems to be the cheaper Intel NICs on mine and my wife's comps.


System load during the above benchmark. These are the worst numbers.



When using hrping, which is similar to the Unix ping and uses the Windows media timer, I get the exact same average ping and exact same std-dev through PFSense as I do directly on the switch.

I am not sure how it will stand up to lots of connections. If I had a way to simulating several thousand UDP+TCP connection, running as fast as they could, in Windows without paying for software, that would be nice. Unfortunately it seems the only good free tools exist for Posix OS's.

One issue that I did have while installing PFSense is some bug that causes the install to hang at 36%. The work around was to unplug my keyboard before it got to 36%, which is a feat to do so on a quick install with a 3.2ghz CPU and SSD. Because I could not get this to work with the GEOM setup, I am stuck with using one HD for now. I plan on giving it another shot once 2.2 comes outs. Hope root on ZFS is supported.

P.S. The candy box in front of the computer is to block an insanely bright blue LED. If you're back on the couch, it is quite annoying.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2014, 12:38:28 pm by Harvy66 »

Offline Supermule

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2530
  • Karma: +77/-102
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #71 on: March 05, 2014, 09:40:36 am »
Havent any pictures....but currently testing hardware thats capable of pushing real traffic....

Fastest internet seen so far in Denmark!
Kind regards Brian


Offline AhnHEL

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
  • Karma: +18/-0
  • It is what it is.
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #72 on: March 05, 2014, 06:15:50 pm »
The line graph shows 100Gbps, but the numerical display says otherwise.  Is pfSense not capable of displaying numerical values over 1Gbps?  I would love to have such problems   ;)
AhnHEL (Angel)
NYC

2 pfSense sites: 2.4.2 (amd64)
Dell 755 SFF E6550 @ 2.3Ghz, 4GB RAM, 100/30 Mbps, Intel X3959
Dell 7010 SFF i5-3570 @ 3.4Ghz, 8GB RAM, 940/880 Mbps, Intel X3959
OpenVPN (Road Warrior), pfBlockerNG, Gaming


Offline stephenw10

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11921
  • Karma: +468/-15
    • View Profile
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #73 on: March 05, 2014, 06:32:31 pm »
I think it shows 1.00Gbps but the . is hidden by the font/graph.

Steve

Offline chpalmer

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1765
  • Karma: +93/-3
    • View Profile
    • Home of Cablenut
Re: [ Show your pfSenses! ] - Thread - (bandwidth warning!)
« Reply #74 on: March 05, 2014, 09:43:52 pm »

Numerical graph shows what is presently taking place.  Not peak as graph shows.  Picture seems to be taken after the test.
P.S. statements made by me are not necessarily condoned by the management of this fine organization.  http://badmodems.com